Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Very easy and very tasty! I followed the recipe as written, using fat free half and half. I did add about a teaspoon of thyme because I think it adds a richness to the clam flavor. I served this with homemade Caraway Rye from this site and a green salad. Turned a gloomy wet day right around. Thanks Cindy, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Yummm, I love this! Instead of cooking the potatoes in the water I use 2 bottles of clam juice. Makes it more clammy. I had submitted this about 7 years ago and I've changed it a bit since then. Still using the Knoor Brand Leek Soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I don't eat seafood, but I made this for my husband and he gave it 5 stars for taste. I give it 5 stars for being so quick and easy. Thanks Cindy for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is OMG good !!! Followed the recipe, using clam juice instead of water for the potatoes. Only change made is my method of cooking. I don't have a stove, so I made it in my electric pressure cooker, set to brown. Thanks so much for sharing this one, Cindy !!!! My new clam chowder recipe, for sure !!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARYL4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Holy guacamole, my craving has been quenched! This chowder was just Terrific! I did add chopped onion. That was only thing I changed. Very flavorful, the ff half and half was just the ticket, save some calories but did not sacrifice the flavor. My kind of chowder! I served it with sour dough bread. Thanks for this delish dish Cindy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My family loved this recipe. It tasted more like potato soup than clam chowder maybe it was the bacon. I will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This is beyond awesome. I didn't have clam juice as Cindy recommended to cook the potatoes in, but I did have chicken broth. I had about four large celery ribs that needed to be used, so I just chopped it up along with the carrots and threw them in the bacon fat with the potatoes. (I had to add just a little more previously reserved bacon fat to the pan, only because there was more veg. I know I'm not the only one who saves bacon fat in the fridge!) I followed the recipe exact. I'm the only one who loves clam chowder in this house, which is fine with me. I'm NOT SHARING. I ate two bowls with homemade ranch oyster crackers. I feel better already! NOTE: Next time, I'll be sure to cook the potatoes with the clam juice. Good tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is a savoury chowder. I followed the directions exactly as written by Cindy. (I did buy minced clams by mistake but I actually like the smaller pieces).Even if you do not like clam chowder I think you would like this one, it does not taste clamy at all. I made it in the morning, planning on reheating it for dinner in a double boiler but it was so flavoursome I ended up eating a bowl for breakfast. Served with oyster crackers one night and Cheddar Bay Biscuits the next night. Will with out a doubt be making this all winter long. Awesome recipe Cindy, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is easily one of the best soups I have ever had! 1 of the top 5. It has so much flavor and is so simple to make that my 13yr old did it by herself. The only change I made was I only had 6 slices of bacon and not 1/2 pound. The combination of leeks, bacon and onions was incredible! This soup is a keeper! Thanks Cindy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This Clam Chowder was the BEST I'VE EVER HAD. My boyfriend agrees. I put two leek soup packages in it which in total was 144 g instead of 100 g.. (by an accident lol it still tasted good). And I didn't have 946 mL of half half so I used 500 ml half/half and the rest with just milk. I loved the chunky texture and I had to hide it from my BF so he wouldn't eat the leftovers. I served it with garlic bread and it was to DIE FOR! 5 STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States