Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was so yummy!! I had never made clam chowder before this, so I was a little nervous that it would be too clammy or too fishy, but it wasn't - it was delicious!! The only change I made was I used onion soup mix instead of leek soup mix - I looked everywhere for leek soup mix and I just couldn't find any, so I had no choice. Otherwise, I stayed true to the recipe and I will make this again, for sure. Even my kiddos and picky husband said we should have this again - they loved it. Next time I may try blending it with a hand blender before I add the clams and bacon in so I can "hide" the carrots and potatoes from my kids. It might make it a little thicker too, which would be good. But this was awesome - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Easy! My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Really good!!! I've made it several times and didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Slaughter Holt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princess Anne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
this is my favorite clam chowder recipe.I make mine a little bit different.I add onions, use chicken broth instead of water. I use four cans of clams. I omit the soup mix, and slowley add instant potatoes to aquire proper thickness. This works great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Excellent!! We just got back from San Fran and I have to say this was better than the chowder we had there.. Serve with warm San Francisco style sourdough and it makes a nice fall/winter meal. Also, I added onion and celery for some more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Oh My! This recipe ROCKS!!!!! Even my chowder-hating husband liked this (and that's saying a LOT!!!). Other than there being too many potatoes for my liking, this was SPOT on. The size of your potatoes really does matter. I used five good-sized potatoes and my soup was VERY chunky! I think using five SMALLISH or three large potatoes is what I'll do next time. As recipe submitter Cindy suggested, I subbed two bottles of clam juice (in addition to the juice from my canned clams) for the water called for and chopped clams instead of minced ones. I also added a large stalk of chopped celery to my soup. Sourdough bread bowls and seasoned oyster crackers made this a truly memorable meal. All I can say is WOW! This is absolutely fantastic and a must repeat at my house! Thanks for sharing your family recipe, Cindy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe! Made as it was written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Wow is all I can say! My store did not have Leek dry soup so I used Knorr Spring Vegetable recipe mix instead. Went exactly per instructions, plus the two (0.9 oz each) packages soup mix. slow simmered to a thicker consistency. My wife said it was a richer tasting chowder. And it surely tasted upscale. Keep this and toss out the rest. I have found THE ONE! Thank You! P.S. Yukon gold potatoes definitely used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this in 2 hours like it said it would. but it was well worth the effort and wait. It was so easy to make following the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Really liked, would like more of a fish taste but will alter recipe to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmieYum

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States