Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This recipe was just great! Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jetchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Thought I'd make this soup today, because it's snowing here in MPLS. Yes, it's May 3rd, and yes, it's snowing, grrrr! Anyway, the soup is pretty tasty. I could not find the leek soup mix at my closest grocery store, so I had to sub Knorr Vegetable Soup mix, and I only used 1 packet. I also added 2 stalks of celery in addition to the carrots. I added just enough water to cover the potatoes, but it was a little on the thin side when the soup was done, so next time I will add less. I just simmered it for longer to thicken it up. I decided to make the recipe using the clam juice and water it called for, instead of spending money on extra clam juice and chicken stock, and was glad I did. We thought there was plenty of clam flavor just from the clams and juice they were packed in and plenty of flavor, period!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was better than most clam chowders I've ordered in restaurants! I didn't have everything on hand, so I tweaked things a bit. We had a vegetarian guest over so I ommitted the bacon (I know EVERYTHING is better with bacon, but I thought it tasted pretty darn good without it), and to give it a bit more flavour, I sauteed celery and leeks in olive oil first and then added the potatoes. I also ommitted the carrots (my husband won't eat cooked carrots in any form). I only used one leek soup package instead of two, but everything else I followed and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
found this on here and figured since my name is Cindy it must be for me :) so I made garlic rosemary bread bowls and this awesome chowder. They went perfectly together. This is an awesome recipe but not for anyone on a diet of low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Hendren Bybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kooskia, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This recipe was amazing. I followed the recipe except added more clams and substituted turkey bacon. Will make again. Easy, quick and awesome taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msgalfriend
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Leave the recipe as is...... PLEAAAASSSE!!!! 5 STARS ISN'T ENOUGH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is my go to clam chowder in a pinch. It is quick and easy to make and even if you don't personaly tweek it, it is great. I have made this recipe so many times I can't count. However I made it last night for dinner and used another can of clams with sauted celery and a bit of shallots (I had them on hand) and was wonderful. I will be adding those in from now on. Thanks Cindy, really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I will elaborate, but I think Hubs' remark as he ate his first spoonful says it all. "This is really good," he said. "Much better than most of the stuff I get at restaurants. Make it again." How's THAT for a compliment? I stuck pretty closely to the recipe, but I did substitute celery for the carrots (icky-I don't like them), and added some finely chopped onion. I also covered the potatoes with bottled clam juice (one 8-0z bottle for a half recipe) rather than water, which I think contributed significantly to its full flavor. I did find then, that I didn't need quite the full amount of half-and-half to achieve the right level of thickness. I didn't add salt to the soup, thinking there might just be enough in the leek soup mix, which proved to be the case. This is rich, full-flavored and satisfying in every way. We cleaned up every drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My family loves clam chowder and this is our favorite recipe. Everyone looks forward to it. I serve it with a rustic bread and green salad. It's a hit everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This clam chowder is amazing!!! Very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States