Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This simple chowder is wonderful. First time that I tried it, Mrs. Knorr's Vegetable soup was used because it was in the pantry. It was wonderful. I have since made it with leek soup and once doubled it with one package of each. All turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Watson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Amherst, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This recipe was just great! Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jetchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Thought I'd make this soup today, because it's snowing here in MPLS. Yes, it's May 3rd, and yes, it's snowing, grrrr! Anyway, the soup is pretty tasty. I could not find the leek soup mix at my closest grocery store, so I had to sub Knorr Vegetable Soup mix, and I only used 1 packet. I also added 2 stalks of celery in addition to the carrots. I added just enough water to cover the potatoes, but it was a little on the thin side when the soup was done, so next time I will add less. I just simmered it for longer to thicken it up. I decided to make the recipe using the clam juice and water it called for, instead of spending money on extra clam juice and chicken stock, and was glad I did. We thought there was plenty of clam flavor just from the clams and juice they were packed in and plenty of flavor, period!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was better than most clam chowders I've ordered in restaurants! I didn't have everything on hand, so I tweaked things a bit. We had a vegetarian guest over so I ommitted the bacon (I know EVERYTHING is better with bacon, but I thought it tasted pretty darn good without it), and to give it a bit more flavour, I sauteed celery and leeks in olive oil first and then added the potatoes. I also ommitted the carrots (my husband won't eat cooked carrots in any form). I only used one leek soup package instead of two, but everything else I followed and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
found this on here and figured since my name is Cindy it must be for me :) so I made garlic rosemary bread bowls and this awesome chowder. They went perfectly together. This is an awesome recipe but not for anyone on a diet of low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Hendren Bybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kooskia, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This recipe was amazing. I followed the recipe except added more clams and substituted turkey bacon. Will make again. Easy, quick and awesome taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msgalfriend
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Leave the recipe as is...... PLEAAAASSSE!!!! 5 STARS ISN'T ENOUGH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is my go to clam chowder in a pinch. It is quick and easy to make and even if you don't personaly tweek it, it is great. I have made this recipe so many times I can't count. However I made it last night for dinner and used another can of clams with sauted celery and a bit of shallots (I had them on hand) and was wonderful. I will be adding those in from now on. Thanks Cindy, really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I will elaborate, but I think Hubs' remark as he ate his first spoonful says it all. "This is really good," he said. "Much better than most of the stuff I get at restaurants. Make it again." How's THAT for a compliment? I stuck pretty closely to the recipe, but I did substitute celery for the carrots (icky-I don't like them), and added some finely chopped onion. I also covered the potatoes with bottled clam juice (one 8-0z bottle for a half recipe) rather than water, which I think contributed significantly to its full flavor. I did find then, that I didn't need quite the full amount of half-and-half to achieve the right level of thickness. I didn't add salt to the soup, thinking there might just be enough in the leek soup mix, which proved to be the case. This is rich, full-flavored and satisfying in every way. We cleaned up every drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My family loves clam chowder and this is our favorite recipe. Everyone looks forward to it. I serve it with a rustic bread and green salad. It's a hit everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States