Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very very good and couldn't have been easier to make. I added thyme and a splash or two of white wine and not nearly as many potatoes as the recipe called for (I used two huge baking potatoes). I also used turkey bacon. I'm sure it altered the end result somewhat but I try to trim calories and fat where I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Awesome recipe, one bottle of clam juice a little water and the juice from 2 cans was plenty to cover veggies. I added a bit of onion and celery, no other spices are needed. Too bad the Knorr soup mix has changed over the years, I had an older package and a new package and the old one actually had chunks of leeks. Also used fat free half and half and finished with a teaspoon of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
For some reason, the grocers that I visited did not have leek soup mix. I had to fudge things around but I agree with another reviewer in that there is hardly clam taste in this chowder. It is more like a potato soup with clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was so yummy!! I had never made clam chowder before this, so I was a little nervous that it would be too clammy or too fishy, but it wasn't - it was delicious!! The only change I made was I used onion soup mix instead of leek soup mix - I looked everywhere for leek soup mix and I just couldn't find any, so I had no choice. Otherwise, I stayed true to the recipe and I will make this again, for sure. Even my kiddos and picky husband said we should have this again - they loved it. Next time I may try blending it with a hand blender before I add the clams and bacon in so I can "hide" the carrots and potatoes from my kids. It might make it a little thicker too, which would be good. But this was awesome - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Easy! My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Really good!!! I've made it several times and didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Slaughter Holt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princess Anne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
this is my favorite clam chowder recipe.I make mine a little bit different.I add onions, use chicken broth instead of water. I use four cans of clams. I omit the soup mix, and slowley add instant potatoes to aquire proper thickness. This works great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Excellent!! We just got back from San Fran and I have to say this was better than the chowder we had there.. Serve with warm San Francisco style sourdough and it makes a nice fall/winter meal. Also, I added onion and celery for some more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Oh My! This recipe ROCKS!!!!! Even my chowder-hating husband liked this (and that's saying a LOT!!!). Other than there being too many potatoes for my liking, this was SPOT on. The size of your potatoes really does matter. I used five good-sized potatoes and my soup was VERY chunky! I think using five SMALLISH or three large potatoes is what I'll do next time. As recipe submitter Cindy suggested, I subbed two bottles of clam juice (in addition to the juice from my canned clams) for the water called for and chopped clams instead of minced ones. I also added a large stalk of chopped celery to my soup. Sourdough bread bowls and seasoned oyster crackers made this a truly memorable meal. All I can say is WOW! This is absolutely fantastic and a must repeat at my house! Thanks for sharing your family recipe, Cindy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe! Made as it was written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States