Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
this is my favorite clam chowder recipe.I make mine a little bit different.I add onions, use chicken broth instead of water. I use four cans of clams. I omit the soup mix, and slowley add instant potatoes to aquire proper thickness. This works great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Excellent!! We just got back from San Fran and I have to say this was better than the chowder we had there.. Serve with warm San Francisco style sourdough and it makes a nice fall/winter meal. Also, I added onion and celery for some more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Oh My! This recipe ROCKS!!!!! Even my chowder-hating husband liked this (and that's saying a LOT!!!). Other than there being too many potatoes for my liking, this was SPOT on. The size of your potatoes really does matter. I used five good-sized potatoes and my soup was VERY chunky! I think using five SMALLISH or three large potatoes is what I'll do next time. As recipe submitter Cindy suggested, I subbed two bottles of clam juice (in addition to the juice from my canned clams) for the water called for and chopped clams instead of minced ones. I also added a large stalk of chopped celery to my soup. Sourdough bread bowls and seasoned oyster crackers made this a truly memorable meal. All I can say is WOW! This is absolutely fantastic and a must repeat at my house! Thanks for sharing your family recipe, Cindy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe! Made as it was written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Wow is all I can say! My store did not have Leek dry soup so I used Knorr Spring Vegetable recipe mix instead. Went exactly per instructions, plus the two (0.9 oz each) packages soup mix. slow simmered to a thicker consistency. My wife said it was a richer tasting chowder. And it surely tasted upscale. Keep this and toss out the rest. I have found THE ONE! Thank You! P.S. Yukon gold potatoes definitely used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made this in 2 hours like it said it would. but it was well worth the effort and wait. It was so easy to make following the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Really liked, would like more of a fish taste but will alter recipe to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmieYum

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Excellent chowder, being in New Zealand, I was unable to get clams but used fresh mussels instead, delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Deserves the "awesome" name in its title. Substituted a parsnip for the potatoes, added an extra can of clams, used chicken broth instead of water, and only 1 pkg of leek soup. Great flavor and I lived in Boston for a number of years. Thanks Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
So good. I could not find the leek soup in 2 stores so I added a potato soup mix and fresh leeks instead and some frozen corn. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States