Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was a really easy and simple recipe to follow. I don't cook too often and my boyfriend wanted clam chowder soup for supper so I used this recipe. The only thing I changed was instead of using the dry leek soup mix (which I was not able to find after checking two stores), I used baked burgundy french onion soup mix by Cugino's. I thought the flavor was fantastic. It added a nice taste of onion. This is a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janafay25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Tripled this recipe as I like to freeze soups and such when I make them. Followed the recipe to a T, except I omitted one pack of soup mix. (Used 5 instead of 6) The consistency of this chowder couldn't be more perfect. Very creamy! I chopped up the 15 potatoes by hand, but have made other recipes with frozen plain hashbrowns, and I might try that next time. Saves time when you need it in a hurry. Did not add any extra salt to this recipe. This one is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie3372

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I'm going to rate this before my family even tries it. Why? Because I don't CARE what they think! LoL It's just perfect, exactly as the recipe is written. I am so impressed with it that, if my husband and boys don't care for it, I will still be making it for myself. I was concerned over the amount of clams (too much?), the amount of soup mix (way too much?), and the amount of potatoes (not enough?) but I stuck to the recipe and I'm so glad I did. Sheer perfection. Oh, and the Knorr Leek Soup mix came from Meijer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjack68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I tried this recipe and loved it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is truly AWSOME!! I am not a great cook but this turned out wonderful!!! I am thinking maybe some crab and shrimp next time for a seafood chowder or maybe skip the clams and add chicken wild rice and slivered almonds. It is getting cold here in the midwest perfect weather for soup this is going to be a great recipe to expand on!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!!! 5++ stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laliptak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
So easy to make and delicious as well. I left out the carrots, added a chopped shallot and about 4 medium stalks of chopped celery. Used all clam juice to cook the veggies. Family enjoyed. Served with clam cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
So delicious! My husband said this was the best clam chowder he's ever had. It was so rich and tasty. Definitely a new staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
More clams & use all juice... Add some red or white wine vinegar. Probably 2 to 4 tablespoons per pot. Trust me I was skeptical but after reading another recipe from this site I tried the chowder with out the vinegar and it was good. I added the vinegar and I fell in love. Now I even add vinegar to Campbells or Pregresso clam chowder. Try it and you will be hooked. I have had alot of NE clam chowders in my life...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Delicious! I used Fat Free 1/2 & 1/2 and was perfect. Added some celery, onion and fresh garlic for more depth of flavor. Used white wine in place of water. Found Knorr Leek soup base at Meijers. Next time I will thicken with a little flour, we tend to like our soups thicker. Used Snow's and Bumble Bee clams. Bumble Bee is much better worth seeking out. Thank you Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Long

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I followed this recipe for the most parts to make my first batch of clam chowder. I am fairly new to the kitchen and wouldn't even go so far as to call myself any sort of cook BUT my chowder was A-mazing! This recipe is delicious and easy and it also gives room to let each individual personalize to his/her own liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States