Cindi's Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I made these for an office luncheon and everyone loved them (including me!). I used minced celery instead of bell pepper, and like cookinme, I used bagged cole slaw. I didn't have molasses so substituted brown sugar and added Chinese Five Spice in lieu of the ginger. Great recipe. Thanks Cindi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Oh my goodness. I have never liked Egg rolls but my culinary arts class made these today for a chinese dinner. I am going to make them at home. I could not believe how good they were - We used Pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
While eating the egg roll I felt like I was actually eating a meat pie, I prefer more cabbage and sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I'm sorry but these were not to our taste at all. I had a strange feeling about adding green pepper and should've left them out. I like peppers, but don't think they belonged here. Nobody would eat these, we had to order pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
GOOD STUFF!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I coarse ground 3/4 lb.pork stir fry meat,added 1 tsp 5 spice to the meat and browned.More than enough meat.. I used a whole bag of coleslaw mix for cabbage and carrots,worked nicely. I used 6 garlic cloves minced and 2 Tblsp peanut oil in place of the olive oil and 1 tsp Hoison sauce..I omitted the cornstarch it didnt need it. These egg rolls flew off the platter. My SIL loved them ( thats saying something, he loves Chinese food.)Thank U Cindi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I sauteed some cole slaw mix in a wok and added the 'sauce' and just used that to fill my wrappers. I was really surprised with molasses in the sauce and I loved the flavor. These were the most flavorful egg rolls I have ever made, my husband likes them as well. You do not even need a sauce to dip them in, they taste wonderful by themselves. I'm sure meat eaters would love the complete recipe but it works just as well to make with just the veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
These were excellent. I put about a half an inch of oil in a frying pan and just kept turning them since I did not have deep fryer. they turned out really well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Excellent receipe. However, I did change it just a bit. I left out the ginger root, and added a heaping tsp of brown sugar to the molasses, soy sauce, and corn starch. I also bought pre shredded cabbage and carrots to save time. Very easy receipe and will share it with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I never made egg rolls before, so I expected some problems. The only problem I had was that the first batch unrolled when I put them in the hot oil. I found that when I put some water on the wrapper near the end of the roll, they stayed together beautifully. My husband raved over these. I used salad shrimp that I chopped in the food chopper. I also used bag cole slaw mix and added some onion and garlic. Really a great recipe. Thank you Cindi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States