Cinco de Chili Chocolate Cupcakes with Chili Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Good recipe. But if want spicer simmer dried chiles in the water for 15 min then let cool. Use the water as directed in the cake batter. It activates true heat of peppers and really gives a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I used a non-box Chocolate cake recipe and couldn't find ancho chile powder so just used regular chile powder and entered into a "chili" cook off...didn't win but got some good reviews :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TwiztidPrincess
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Very tasty!!!! I used an old favorite cake recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwiztidPrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
These were ok, nothing special. If you didn't know what was in them when you tried them, I'm not sure you would think they were anything but chocolate cupcakes. My box of cake mix was 15 oz, so I reduced the water to 1 cup but kept the other items to the amounts written in the recipe, including the spices. The heat was very subtle, barely noticeable. Everyone at our work party tried them out of curiosity, but they weren't a hit. I did like the addition of cinnamon in the cream cheese frosting, and that flavor paired well with the chocolate cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Absolutely fantastic - the best cupcakes I have ever made and I have made a lot of cupcakes! Moist and light and the slight kick of heat, felt like I bought them from a gourmet cupcake bakery! Definitely a recipe I will make again and again. Made recipe to the letter, just doubled ancho and cayenne spices for a little extra kick. Thanks so much for this recipe - SIMPLY AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Just made these this morning for a small gathering. I wanted to try something new and different for my guests. Very delicious. The sweet balances the heat perfectly. As another reviewer said; I didn't need all the frosting. I used about 2/3 of what the recipe yielded. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I tried this last night & these are fantastic! Just the right amount of kick. Even my 9 year old loved them! The cream cheese frosting is a good compliment to the heat of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
These cupcakes were good, just not great and my opinion is it's because of the box mix rather than from scratch. I couldn't find ancho chili pepper, but a friend brought me dried pasilla chilis, which I ground myself. The cupcakes could use a little more heat, so don't be afraid to bump up the peppers if you like spicy. I will make them again from scratch. I think a dark chocolate cocoa would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I was disappointed after reading all the reviews, with how lame these were. I followed the recipe and they tasted fine - but I didn't tell anyone what they were and everyone guessed they were plain chocolate cupcakes. Certainly not enough 'kick' and the frosting was not that appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is my recipe and I was requested to make 50 for an event in Eugene. I amped up the Ancho and Cayenne ground pepper per request to two teaspoons Ancho and 1/2 teaspoon Cayenne in the CC batter. Actually, I thought it tasted good and was still not too hot for this wimp. That's why I like this recipe. Make it as you like... less pepper powder or more. Of course I made some for hubby too! He liked the spicer version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States