Cinco de Chili Chocolate Cupcakes with Chili Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Well, I thought they were great, but I didn't love the boxed mix I chose. I went with Betty Crocker bc Box Tops for Education, but I wish I'd gone with Duncan Hines. Sorry Betty Crocker, but it's true: You come in dead last even after Pillsbury. But anyway, I thought these were great. They made exactly 24 with quite a bit more frosting than I needed, but I didn't pipe. I do think it'd have made enough to pipe and maybe even core and fill them, which would've been super tasty too. I added a sprinkle of cayenne to the tops for decoration. These are show-stoppers and conversation pieces, for sure. Can't wait to hear what DH's coworkers think! P.S. I added quite a bit more cinnamon to the frosting just because it seemed like a tasty idea. Go with that if you love cinnamon, it doesn't override the pepper or the chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Very good! I followed the recipe except that I subbed chili powder for the ancho because I didn't have it. I do think it needs just a little more heat/pepper flavor, but maybe that's because I used regular chili powder. When I make them again, I will just use a teeny bit more of the spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlanaKadas
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I really enjoyed these. I'm not one to typically use boxed cake mix, but I did for this and it saved a lot of time and still tastes great. I like more spice than the average person, so I added more ancho chile powder and cayenne pepper and also some cinnamon to the cake mix. They turned out pretty great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlanaKadas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
If you live in Mexico, this will not seem at all spicy to you. It has a tiny, tiny kick. My kids wouldn't even notice the spice in this. It just leaves you with a little burning sensation in the throat, but not enough to really know that it was from the cupcake. I will make it again, but I'll add more spice next time. At some point in the future, when I am not at high altitude, I'll make my own chocolate cake to go along with it, but for now, I'm quite comfortable with boxed mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I made recipe as is, only adding vanilla to the box mix. But I do that to all boxed mixes. I love cream cheese frosting and it was really good with the extra kick of spices. My family and friends loved them little change in cupcake flavor. Will definitely make again. Nice cupcake with very little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phat Cheph
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I really couldn't taste the chile and wanted more spicy heat with this cupcake. It was still good, just not exceptionally good. It did get better with age!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Williston, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Excellent! The heat is subtle and sneaks up afterward. The frosting is very good as well and pipes smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This recipe had so many good reviews, but I was disappointed. It is a good basic chocolate cupcake with cream cheese icing. In addition to doubling the hot spices in the cake recipe, I tripled the cayenne (and at least x5'd the ancho pepper and added a few dried chopped red chile peppers), but even my spice-wimp boyfriend couldn't tell that it was supposed to be a chocolate chile cupcake. I ended up sifting Penzy's Hot Chile Powder on top of the iced cupcakes; that helped a little and I was worried that I overdid it, but nope. I should have sifted on a lot more, because the chile flavor was still pretty subtle. Note: the recipe says to beat the batter for 2 minutes, but that's way too long and makes a tougher cake. Just beat it enough to combine it, which was about 30 seconds for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Good recipe. But if want spicer simmer dried chiles in the water for 15 min then let cool. Use the water as directed in the cake batter. It activates true heat of peppers and really gives a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States