Cinco de Chili Chocolate Cupcakes with Chili Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Fantastic!!! Love, love, LOVE this recipe! The ancho and cayenne work wonderfully with the richness of the devil's food cake. As written, I found it to have just the right amount of kick - not overwhelming at all. It really is a great 'adult' cupcake. The frosting is KILLER and compliments the cupcakes perfectly. I will definitely make these again. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
WOW...these were AMAZING!!!! Made them exactly as written and feel there are no changes needed...just the right amount of 'heat', not a hot, spicy heat, just a warm heat that you can feel in the back of your throat....SO YUMMY! The icing is definately the star of these cupcakes, and would go great on a variety of cakes, or from a spoon as I was doing, lol. Even my little guy LOVED these, but he is partial to spicy foods, so I knew that he would be ablr to handle this. Can't wait to share these with my family and friends. Definate repeat recipe! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was quite interesting! I just made this for my husband & our neighbors whom were over.. These were a hit with all the guys for sure... very different, but worth a try.. IMO the frosting didn't look too appealing because of the spices, so I topped it with caramel sauce to help. Regardless, by the time everyone left they had eaten them all gone! They are an adult cupcake, I wouldn't recommend these for kids, unless they have a eclectic pallet & can tolerate heat.. I will note that I used tofutti non-dairy cream cheese & earth balance butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is my recipe and I was requested to make 50 for an event in Eugene. I amped up the Ancho and Cayenne ground pepper per request to two teaspoons Ancho and 1/2 teaspoon Cayenne in the CC batter. Actually, I thought it tasted good and was still not too hot for this wimp. That's why I like this recipe. Make it as you like... less pepper powder or more. Of course I made some for hubby too! He liked the spicer version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by tattoogirllovessteven
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Wonderful! My husband is in the Army and I made these for a bake sale at his work! Everyone loved them! They sold out in a flash! Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Fantastic!!Made these according to the recipe as written mainly out of curiosity! WoW!!! They were a big hit at a party I had tonight. I made them as minature cupcakes and served them as a "Guess the ingredient " dish. Only one person out of 22 came up with the Ancho chili and cayenne pepper. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maysville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe. I tasted the batter and loved it, I tasted the frosting which would have been delicious with no spices and decided to add more of each type of chili per personal taste. They are just delicious and I love how they look. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
These cupcakes were good, just not great and my opinion is it's because of the box mix rather than from scratch. I couldn't find ancho chili pepper, but a friend brought me dried pasilla chilis, which I ground myself. The cupcakes could use a little more heat, so don't be afraid to bump up the peppers if you like spicy. I will make them again from scratch. I think a dark chocolate cocoa would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
made as directed, but made mini's (bake time 15 minutes). they were a huge hit - every one got eaten, most people ate two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I made these for my mexican party and they were a HUGE hit! I'm not sure if I am an under-icer but with 24 cupcakes, I still had half the icing left over...so I just made a cake and finished the icing off. Win win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States