Cinco de Chili Chocolate Cupcakes with Chili Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
In honor of the Kentucky Derby on Cinco de Mayo, I substituted the vanilla in the frosting with a splash of bourbon. These are really flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKAY62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Easy and delicious! I'm diabetic so I made a couple changes to suit my diet needs, using a no-sugar-added cake mix (Pilsbury brand) and cutting the confections sugar in the icing in half. They're still fantastic and you'd never know they were lower sugar. That being said, I imagine adding the full 4 cups of confectioner's sugar would make the icing even better (it was darn good with half!). I did think the heat was a little mild and added just a bit more ancho and cayenne to the mix. I don't think I'm brave enough to add chopped bits of pepper though. Definitely making these again, and definitely going to go eat another right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Photo by nikkirdh
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Great recipe. I thought it needed a bit more kick though so I added more ancho chile pepper and cayenne to both the batter and the frosting. D-lish! BIG hit at my brother's 40th birthday which also happens to fall on Cinco de Mayo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These are delicious! I tested them out on a CIA grad for her approval to use for a Mexican themed wedding shower. Five people gave them rave reviews! I couldn't find ancho chile pepper and used a half and half combo of pasilla and New Mexico chiles. I'm going to look again for the anchos today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This cake was delicious and moist and easy but I have one gripe. It was NOT spicy. There was a slight aftertaste of chili/cayenne but you kind of had to be looking for it to taste it. I had even added some extra cayenne but if I make this again I will double or triple the spice it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey Wilson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lascassas, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made this for work and it was a total hit! That said next time I make it I'm going to add more pepper to the cake to kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These were a hit in our house and with the co-workers! You can easily add more spice to your taste. Very mild flavor as written. Frosting is awesome and would be great with the cinnamon alone for use with spice cake or pumpkin cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Perfect amount of spicy and chocolate! Made these for our Mexican themed game night and everyone LOVED them! They leave just the right amount of warmth. So delicious and easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
These cupcakes are such a surprisingly fun treat! Just the right amount of heat. They make your tongue tingle but are very delicious. I used pillsbury's moist supreme devil's food mix and the cupcakes without frosting were noteworthy. After adding the frosting, they were outstanding. I highly recommend this recipe and I plan on experimenting with a little extra spice for more heat.?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I really loved these, they were good! But they fell apart so easily, and were very doughy. I felt pretty terrible after I served them to a party and no one liked them, and I don't think I'll ever make these again anytime soon. I really hate to leave a bad review, but I was thoroughly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States