Cinco de Chili Chocolate Cupcakes with Chili Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Delish!! If you like spice in your life, you'll love these! I added additional ancho chile and cayenne pepper for the spicy lovin' folks. Well worth the time it takes to make these ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Made a cake with this recipe for my chili head husband's birthday. I added extra spice for his taste and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoomzoomgrl
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made these for a church gathering and they were awesome! I used a gluten free betty crocker devil's food and they turned out perfectly. Didn't stray from the recipe at all. Even the kids loved them! I don't like spicy food but these had just enough kick and perfect flavor. Every single one was gone in no time at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Converse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Loved it! Very moist cupcake, but I definitely added more cayenne and ancho to the cupcake and frosting to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
In honor of the Kentucky Derby on Cinco de Mayo, I substituted the vanilla in the frosting with a splash of bourbon. These are really flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKAY62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Easy and delicious! I'm diabetic so I made a couple changes to suit my diet needs, using a no-sugar-added cake mix (Pilsbury brand) and cutting the confections sugar in the icing in half. They're still fantastic and you'd never know they were lower sugar. That being said, I imagine adding the full 4 cups of confectioner's sugar would make the icing even better (it was darn good with half!). I did think the heat was a little mild and added just a bit more ancho and cayenne to the mix. I don't think I'm brave enough to add chopped bits of pepper though. Definitely making these again, and definitely going to go eat another right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Photo by nikkirdh
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Great recipe. I thought it needed a bit more kick though so I added more ancho chile pepper and cayenne to both the batter and the frosting. D-lish! BIG hit at my brother's 40th birthday which also happens to fall on Cinco de Mayo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These are delicious! I tested them out on a CIA grad for her approval to use for a Mexican themed wedding shower. Five people gave them rave reviews! I couldn't find ancho chile pepper and used a half and half combo of pasilla and New Mexico chiles. I'm going to look again for the anchos today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This cake was delicious and moist and easy but I have one gripe. It was NOT spicy. There was a slight aftertaste of chili/cayenne but you kind of had to be looking for it to taste it. I had even added some extra cayenne but if I make this again I will double or triple the spice it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey Wilson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lascassas, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made this for work and it was a total hit! That said next time I make it I'm going to add more pepper to the cake to kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States