Cinco de Chili Chocolate Cupcakes with Chili Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Keep these for just a few hours before eating them---if you can! I think the flavors set much better when you give them a little time. These were just delicious! I used a Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge box mix (and I hardly ever use box mixes!), and made 52 mini cupcakes, baking them at 350 for 14 minutes. Everything else was done just as the well-written recipe stated. I took them to a school for the teachers' first day back, and they were a total success! I can't believe I waited so long to make these cupcakes! Thanks, Candice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Delish!! If you like spice in your life, you'll love these! I added additional ancho chile and cayenne pepper for the spicy lovin' folks. Well worth the time it takes to make these ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Made a cake with this recipe for my chili head husband's birthday. I added extra spice for his taste and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcy DiBattiste
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made these for a church gathering and they were awesome! I used a gluten free betty crocker devil's food and they turned out perfectly. Didn't stray from the recipe at all. Even the kids loved them! I don't like spicy food but these had just enough kick and perfect flavor. Every single one was gone in no time at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy DiBattiste

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Converse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Loved it! Very moist cupcake, but I definitely added more cayenne and ancho to the cupcake and frosting to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
In honor of the Kentucky Derby on Cinco de Mayo, I substituted the vanilla in the frosting with a splash of bourbon. These are really flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKAY62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Easy and delicious! I'm diabetic so I made a couple changes to suit my diet needs, using a no-sugar-added cake mix (Pilsbury brand) and cutting the confections sugar in the icing in half. They're still fantastic and you'd never know they were lower sugar. That being said, I imagine adding the full 4 cups of confectioner's sugar would make the icing even better (it was darn good with half!). I did think the heat was a little mild and added just a bit more ancho and cayenne to the mix. I don't think I'm brave enough to add chopped bits of pepper though. Definitely making these again, and definitely going to go eat another right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Photo by nikkirdh
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Great recipe. I thought it needed a bit more kick though so I added more ancho chile pepper and cayenne to both the batter and the frosting. D-lish! BIG hit at my brother's 40th birthday which also happens to fall on Cinco de Mayo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These are delicious! I tested them out on a CIA grad for her approval to use for a Mexican themed wedding shower. Five people gave them rave reviews! I couldn't find ancho chile pepper and used a half and half combo of pasilla and New Mexico chiles. I'm going to look again for the anchos today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This cake was delicious and moist and easy but I have one gripe. It was NOT spicy. There was a slight aftertaste of chili/cayenne but you kind of had to be looking for it to taste it. I had even added some extra cayenne but if I make this again I will double or triple the spice it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey Wilson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lascassas, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States