Cincinnati-Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Loved this. Family ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
As a Buckeye transplant and relatively new vegetarian here in Texas, I followed this recipe to a tee (only adjustment was I used half kidney beans and half pinto) and I must say it tasted just like Skyline. I made it 4-way with spaghetti, cheese, and red onions (with my bottle of hot sauce at hand!) and I was in nostalgic heaven. Absolutely delicious on a cold winter night like tonight. Thank you for this great recipe. Now I don't have to go back to Columbus to get the taste of Skyline....I only need to go to my kitchen and get my dutch oven ready!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I use to make something like this in Southeast Asia. If they wanted to put it on something they would use rice out of our cooker. We had one relative, a boy called RJ and he would eat over rice with 2 tablespoons.. one in each hand. ha. Kids there are wonderful.. we should take hints from their parents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
loved it, followed recipe exactly. served both on its own and with nachos ... 2 of us devoured the whole pot in 24 hours, with non-stop raving that we couldn't believe how delicious it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was a good base for Cincinnati style chili. All in all I liked it. I made a few tweaks. First I left out the beans. Cinti chili doesn't have beans in it. If you want them you cook them on the side and add them at service,otherwise they get to soggy. I also added a bay leaf while cooking. This is a trick that my brother told me from his experience making Cinti chili in the past. It adds a lot to the chili. I did not have allspice so I used a pew dashes of nutmeg. I need allspice for next time. Other then that next time I will use 1 1/2 tbs coco instead of 2. Like I said, great base for a recipe. I can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Hammtabulous

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Followed this recipe exactly. Chili with cinnamon, cocoa power and allspice is not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Very good. I substituted black beans for kidney beans and added two teaspoons of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made this receipe with hot sausage, and it was a hit with my family..delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good. People, if you don't understand the taste of Cincinatti chili, don't try this. It's totally different than Texas style chili, but equally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I love Cincinnati Style Chili, but this was my first time trying to make it myself. I was skeptical about the cocoa powder and after making it, I know that I should have trusted myself and left it out. If it weren't for the cocoa powder, this would have been great.... It gave it a bitterness that could not be overcome. No matter how long I left it to simmer, it didn't blend with the other flavors. So, next time, I'll just leave that out and I am sure it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States