Cincinnati-Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
I just made this and I have to admit that I thought it was horrible. I followed the recipe to the tee, so I guess it just wasn't my style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Taste just like Skyline! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
A great chili recipe! I've tried to find a good vegetarian version and this one is the best so far. The addition of atypical chili spices may make you skeptical, but the finished product is worth the risk! I added two medium vine-ripened tomatoes, chopped, when the canned tomatoes were added to increase the flavor. Next time I will halve the water, as ours was too watery and we had to simmer it uncovered for about 10 minutes extra. However, that 10 minutes made the beans just tender enough, and I would add them half-way through the simmering time to make sure they are tender enough for the next time. Another suggestion would be to halve or leave out the brown sugar, it was a bit too sweet for my taste, but will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
GREAT!! Very tangy and spicy. For non-vegetarians, it works with 1/2 lb ground beef too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
excellent chili...I did not add the spahetti, rather just served with bread...everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This was a nice alternative to traditional chili (if there is such thing). I did add 1 TBL cornstarch as a thickener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Loved it! Nothing else to say, except don't be put off by the seemingly weird combination of cocoa powder and cinnamon in your chili--it is really good. Discovered that many southerners have never heard of Cincinnati, much less tried their famous chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSE24HR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pisgah Forest, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
This recipe was a big hit with the whole family--even the 2 year old. He enjoyed scooping the chili with tortilla chips rather than having it on spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
This was great. We loved it. We used to live in Cincinnati and this tasted just like the chili there. To make it "5-way" top with chopped raw onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Well, I have to say that reading the other reviews has been really funny! Seems there is a different version of this from everyone that considers themselves an expert on the subject. Bottom line is that this is a good recipe regardless. The fact that it has chocolate in it makes it a non-traditional chili, so not everyone will like it! I fixed it for a big family get together and we all thought it was very good! I think it would be better to stop hearing how authentic it is and just plain old "do we like the recipe?" What is good about this recipe or not good based on our preferences. There are a zillion "skyline" recipes on this site and no two are the same! Will the real Skyline Chili please stand up! Sorry could not resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States