Cincinnati-Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Taste just like Skyline! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
A great chili recipe! I've tried to find a good vegetarian version and this one is the best so far. The addition of atypical chili spices may make you skeptical, but the finished product is worth the risk! I added two medium vine-ripened tomatoes, chopped, when the canned tomatoes were added to increase the flavor. Next time I will halve the water, as ours was too watery and we had to simmer it uncovered for about 10 minutes extra. However, that 10 minutes made the beans just tender enough, and I would add them half-way through the simmering time to make sure they are tender enough for the next time. Another suggestion would be to halve or leave out the brown sugar, it was a bit too sweet for my taste, but will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I made it for a potluck and everyone loved it. I made it with more beans, and served it with corn tortillas chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This was a nice alternative to traditional chili (if there is such thing). I did add 1 TBL cornstarch as a thickener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This tastes just like Skyline! Meat eaters will not know the difference! Must top w/onions and cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Loved it! Nothing else to say, except don't be put off by the seemingly weird combination of cocoa powder and cinnamon in your chili--it is really good. Discovered that many southerners have never heard of Cincinnati, much less tried their famous chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSE24HR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pisgah Forest, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
This recipe was a big hit with the whole family--even the 2 year old. He enjoyed scooping the chili with tortilla chips rather than having it on spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
This was great. We loved it. We used to live in Cincinnati and this tasted just like the chili there. To make it "5-way" top with chopped raw onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
excellent chili...I did not add the spahetti, rather just served with bread...everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
My teenaged son and two of his friends yummed their way through big bowls of this chili. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCY JAMESON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States