Cincinnati-Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I used ground beef, doubled the liquid ingredients, but only increased the spices by another half, and every one loved it. I served it with spagetti and lots of shredded cheese on top...YUM!! It's a "keeper" in our household. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe! I changed a couple of things, I used extra crumbels 6oz, half the sugar, and no water. And a little extra hot sauce, it was so good. Even the meat eaters had seconds! I served it over pasta with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Good change if you like chili. You can taste the cocoa and cinnamon if you think about it; I did not find it was too sweet. Do add all the hot pepper sauce; I looked at 1 tsp and thought WOW, too much, but even those without much taste for heat will be fine. I've made this several times and now heavily modify it to reduce the number of half-used cans of vegetables & sauce it creates: After frying the garlic/onions and hamburger meat (I use ordinary ground beef, 1 pound) add a 29-ounce can of diced tomatoes (undrained) and all the spices/flavourings, omit the tomato sauce and water, cook 15 minutes; add a whole 19-ounce can of kidney beans, drained and rinsed, and cook another 15 minutes. The cheddar is nice but you won't miss it if you want to avoid the fat (of course you could use low fat or something).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I've tried several kinds of vegetarian chili and this is the first "keeper." I absolutely love the combination of spicy with a hint of sweetness, and the texture of the spaghetti feels just right. One thing I would recommend is letting it simmer (with beans) longer than suggested because I noticed I enjoyed it much more when I reheated it the next day because the flavors had been given more time to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Delicious! I used crumbled (frozen then thawed crumbles better) tofu in place of the burger crumbles and I assure you it worked great! Better the next day, my boyfriend loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Wonderful recipe! This tastes just like the version I have had in several restaurants. Great with shredded cheese and onion on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This recipe tastes just like the chili they serve in our fav. chili restaurant. Excellent! I used turkey meat, rather than vegetarian, but it was delicious! Made great chili spaghetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
I just made this and I have to admit that I thought it was horrible. I followed the recipe to the tee, so I guess it just wasn't my style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Taste just like Skyline! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
A great chili recipe! I've tried to find a good vegetarian version and this one is the best so far. The addition of atypical chili spices may make you skeptical, but the finished product is worth the risk! I added two medium vine-ripened tomatoes, chopped, when the canned tomatoes were added to increase the flavor. Next time I will halve the water, as ours was too watery and we had to simmer it uncovered for about 10 minutes extra. However, that 10 minutes made the beans just tender enough, and I would add them half-way through the simmering time to make sure they are tender enough for the next time. Another suggestion would be to halve or leave out the brown sugar, it was a bit too sweet for my taste, but will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States