Cincinnati-Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Love the sauce for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
The true taste of home. Its not easy finding Cincinnati chili when one lives 2000 miles from the Ohio Valley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I used ground beef, doubled the liquid ingredients, but only increased the spices by another half, and every one loved it. I served it with spagetti and lots of shredded cheese on top...YUM!! It's a "keeper" in our household. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe! I changed a couple of things, I used extra crumbels 6oz, half the sugar, and no water. And a little extra hot sauce, it was so good. Even the meat eaters had seconds! I served it over pasta with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Good change if you like chili. You can taste the cocoa and cinnamon if you think about it; I did not find it was too sweet. Do add all the hot pepper sauce; I looked at 1 tsp and thought WOW, too much, but even those without much taste for heat will be fine. I've made this several times and now heavily modify it to reduce the number of half-used cans of vegetables & sauce it creates: After frying the garlic/onions and hamburger meat (I use ordinary ground beef, 1 pound) add a 29-ounce can of diced tomatoes (undrained) and all the spices/flavourings, omit the tomato sauce and water, cook 15 minutes; add a whole 19-ounce can of kidney beans, drained and rinsed, and cook another 15 minutes. The cheddar is nice but you won't miss it if you want to avoid the fat (of course you could use low fat or something).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I've tried several kinds of vegetarian chili and this is the first "keeper." I absolutely love the combination of spicy with a hint of sweetness, and the texture of the spaghetti feels just right. One thing I would recommend is letting it simmer (with beans) longer than suggested because I noticed I enjoyed it much more when I reheated it the next day because the flavors had been given more time to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Delicious! I used crumbled (frozen then thawed crumbles better) tofu in place of the burger crumbles and I assure you it worked great! Better the next day, my boyfriend loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Wonderful recipe! This tastes just like the version I have had in several restaurants. Great with shredded cheese and onion on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This recipe tastes just like the chili they serve in our fav. chili restaurant. Excellent! I used turkey meat, rather than vegetarian, but it was delicious! Made great chili spaghetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
I just made this and I have to admit that I thought it was horrible. I followed the recipe to the tee, so I guess it just wasn't my style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States