Cincinnati-Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I've never had this style of chili before. I really loved this. The flavor was quite surprising and delightful. I know the spaghetti is traditional for this kind of chili, but...I just don't like it over spaghetti. Later I had a second bowl with oyster crackers instead of spaghetti, and I preferred that much more. I would worry about cooking this for other people because it's not your normal chili. My dad liked it, but my mom couldn't stand it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whittysx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I have to weigh in as well as a former Cincinnatian. Very yummy! Not quite Skyline but I think that would be difficult! It did satisfy the craving! I made it with ground beef as the only change and my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Well, I have to say that reading the other reviews has been really funny! Seems there is a different version of this from everyone that considers themselves an expert on the subject. Bottom line is that this is a good recipe regardless. The fact that it has chocolate in it makes it a non-traditional chili, so not everyone will like it! I fixed it for a big family get together and we all thought it was very good! I think it would be better to stop hearing how authentic it is and just plain old "do we like the recipe?" What is good about this recipe or not good based on our preferences. There are a zillion "skyline" recipes on this site and no two are the same! Will the real Skyline Chili please stand up! Sorry could not resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I haven't made this particular recipe, but Cincinnati Style Chili is my absolute favorite food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! To me, it is better than lobster, and I'm a big seafood lover! Try this recipe out. It is really great on hot dogs with shreaded mild cheddar cheese. I am from Cincinnati, but we don't live there anymore so this is a delicacy to my family. It's always a big deal for our family when we get together and make this. Yummy yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BiancaPtrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
OK, but not as good as some recipes I have had for Cinci style chili. And a true Skyline lover would know... you don't mix the beans in! Instead, you cook the chili, ladle the beans on top of the spaghetti, and follow it up with the cheese. You wouldn't be making a true Skyline-tasting chili by mixing the beans in. Also, and this is probably a matter of personal preference, I like to use red pinto beans instead of kidney beans. Kidney beans make it taste too much like a Texas style chili. One other tip: To make it more authentic-tasting, use a hand blender to grind up the meat very fine. It's much better finely ground than in a chunky form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I make this recipe often, especially for my veggie friends. I usually serve it with the beans (along with chopped red onions) as an optional topping. Doubles very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I had a few reservations about this recipe. When it was cooking, it smelled cinnamony, which was just odd. When I tasted it though, it had an interesting and rich flavor. My husband loved it, and ate all the leftovers. The color of this dish is great, and looks like you spent hours simmering and cooking. I added ground turkey instead of the soy crumbles, since I can't have soy products. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Anyone was has lived in Cincinnati or eaten at Skyline knows there are NO kidney beans in Skyline chili-but my family enjoyed the chili! I left out the beans and hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Love the sauce for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
The true taste of home. Its not easy finding Cincinnati chili when one lives 2000 miles from the Ohio Valley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States