Cincinnati-Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good. People, if you don't understand the taste of Cincinatti chili, don't try this. It's totally different than Texas style chili, but equally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I love Cincinnati Style Chili, but this was my first time trying to make it myself. I was skeptical about the cocoa powder and after making it, I know that I should have trusted myself and left it out. If it weren't for the cocoa powder, this would have been great.... It gave it a bitterness that could not be overcome. No matter how long I left it to simmer, it didn't blend with the other flavors. So, next time, I'll just leave that out and I am sure it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This is the best vegetarian chili I've made! My husband can't get enough every time I make this !!Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Tasted like I was in Cincinnati, yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was amazing! The only thing I did was used canned beans instead of soaking them myself - cut down on prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I used a lb of lean ground beef. I also left out the beans because Cincinnati style usually doesn't have them. I also blended half of the batch to get the right consistency. Tastes just like skyline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I liked it, although my husband wasn't really excited about the spaghetti. That's not the recipe's fault. I found the recipe a bit weird until I added cumin and chipotle peppers. I guess I'm just not a Cincinnati style gal :) I rather liked the spaghetti spin on the usual chili, personally. If my husband were more keen on the idea of the spaghetti part, I'd make it again--it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I've been making this chili for about 9 years now, newly married then, searching for a chili recipe, and this was the winner. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this chili, whenever I make it I NEVER HAVE LEFTOVERS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantallywallywoohoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Randleman, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I've never had real Cincinnati Chili, but this was very good! I followed the recipe exactly - my hubby loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Just because I didn't have the right ingredients, I modified this a little. We used pre-cooked meatballs instead of beef crumbles and Cajun seasoning instead of chili powder. I think the Cajun seasoning gave it a nice mellow "kick" instead of the usual chili kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States