Cincinnati-Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Loved this. Family ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
As a Buckeye transplant and relatively new vegetarian here in Texas, I followed this recipe to a tee (only adjustment was I used half kidney beans and half pinto) and I must say it tasted just like Skyline. I made it 4-way with spaghetti, cheese, and red onions (with my bottle of hot sauce at hand!) and I was in nostalgic heaven. Absolutely delicious on a cold winter night like tonight. Thank you for this great recipe. Now I don't have to go back to Columbus to get the taste of Skyline....I only need to go to my kitchen and get my dutch oven ready!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I use to make something like this in Southeast Asia. If they wanted to put it on something they would use rice out of our cooker. We had one relative, a boy called RJ and he would eat over rice with 2 tablespoons.. one in each hand. ha. Kids there are wonderful.. we should take hints from their parents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
loved it, followed recipe exactly. served both on its own and with nachos ... 2 of us devoured the whole pot in 24 hours, with non-stop raving that we couldn't believe how delicious it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was a good base for Cincinnati style chili. All in all I liked it. I made a few tweaks. First I left out the beans. Cinti chili doesn't have beans in it. If you want them you cook them on the side and add them at service,otherwise they get to soggy. I also added a bay leaf while cooking. This is a trick that my brother told me from his experience making Cinti chili in the past. It adds a lot to the chili. I did not have allspice so I used a pew dashes of nutmeg. I need allspice for next time. Other then that next time I will use 1 1/2 tbs coco instead of 2. Like I said, great base for a recipe. I can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Hammtabulous

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Followed this recipe exactly. Chili with cinnamon, cocoa power and allspice is not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Very good. I substituted black beans for kidney beans and added two teaspoons of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made this receipe with hot sausage, and it was a hit with my family..delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good. People, if you don't understand the taste of Cincinatti chili, don't try this. It's totally different than Texas style chili, but equally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I love Cincinnati Style Chili, but this was my first time trying to make it myself. I was skeptical about the cocoa powder and after making it, I know that I should have trusted myself and left it out. If it weren't for the cocoa powder, this would have been great.... It gave it a bitterness that could not be overcome. No matter how long I left it to simmer, it didn't blend with the other flavors. So, next time, I'll just leave that out and I am sure it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States