Cincinnati-Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This vegetarian version reminded me a lot of Cincinnati's famous chili that I used to love when I used to eat meat. Next time I will halve the sugar. It was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I made this yesterday but I had no Coaco powder. So I'm calling it my Watertown Chili lol. I was raised on Cincinnati 3 way chili so I know the good stuff when I taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
The cinnamon and allspice were too overwhelming. It was just weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Loved this. Family ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
As a Buckeye transplant and relatively new vegetarian here in Texas, I followed this recipe to a tee (only adjustment was I used half kidney beans and half pinto) and I must say it tasted just like Skyline. I made it 4-way with spaghetti, cheese, and red onions (with my bottle of hot sauce at hand!) and I was in nostalgic heaven. Absolutely delicious on a cold winter night like tonight. Thank you for this great recipe. Now I don't have to go back to Columbus to get the taste of Skyline....I only need to go to my kitchen and get my dutch oven ready!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
loved it, followed recipe exactly. served both on its own and with nachos ... 2 of us devoured the whole pot in 24 hours, with non-stop raving that we couldn't believe how delicious it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was a good base for Cincinnati style chili. All in all I liked it. I made a few tweaks. First I left out the beans. Cinti chili doesn't have beans in it. If you want them you cook them on the side and add them at service,otherwise they get to soggy. I also added a bay leaf while cooking. This is a trick that my brother told me from his experience making Cinti chili in the past. It adds a lot to the chili. I did not have allspice so I used a pew dashes of nutmeg. I need allspice for next time. Other then that next time I will use 1 1/2 tbs coco instead of 2. Like I said, great base for a recipe. I can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Hammtabulous

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Followed this recipe exactly. Chili with cinnamon, cocoa power and allspice is not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Very good. I substituted black beans for kidney beans and added two teaspoons of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made this receipe with hot sausage, and it was a hit with my family..delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States