Cincinnati Skyline Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
There are a couple problems with this recipe. First, the real Skyline chili doesn't have this much chili powder if any at all. Second and more serious is that it is way too dry, as a couple people here already mentioned. I have checked a dozen or more Skyline recipes on the internet and most of them mention adding 3 cups or 1 quart of water, which would make the consistancy more like that of Skyline's. As the recipe is here, there is not enough liquid, and it is more like a thick paste. Either this recipe has not been tried by the auther, or she left something out when she typed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
following this recipe will give you a basic chili. "Cincinnati Chili" (i.e. "Skyline") chili, is much juicier... I would suggest NOT browning the meat first; let it cook in the sauce, stirring constantly. (hint; use a hand-held mixer to finely shred the meat in early cooking stage). Some folks have suggested adding beans to the sauce during cooking - that's not how we do it in Cincy. the basic chili is "garnished" with the addition of beans, finely chopped onions, & finely shredded cheddar cheese. Adding all of these garnishes yields a "4-Way", adding any two = a "3-way", etc. I have never seen olives used as a garnish with this dish, but I suppose that could work - just not authentic! use plenty of cocoa powder for that Cincinnati-caffeine kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sgt.Rock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This is a great recipe but the meat should not be browned. You should mix the dry ingredents with the the liquids and mix in the meat also instead of 2 cans of tomato sause use 1 can of sause and i can of paste, bring to a rolling boil the reduce and simmer for about and hour to hour and a half. the meat will melt in you mouth. Try it like this i promise it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
My family loved it. We recently visited (ok 6 times while on a 3 week vacation) the Hard Times Cafe is Old Town Alexandria Va. My kids loved the Cincinnati Chili Mac and were amazed it had Cinnamon in it. I followed some of the recommendations in the comments like adding Cocoa powder. I added petite diced tomatoes (1/2 a 28oz can), 1/2 a 28 oz can of tomatoe sauce, 1 1/2 tsp Cinnamon, 2 galic cloves, and 1/1/2 tsp cocoa. I served this with cheese and sour cream. Yumm! This kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This is one of my all time favorite recipes. I grew up in the midwest and this was a staple in our home. My husband is from Southern California and had never heard of this type of chili. He wasn't too crazy about it at first, but now he LOVES it. We have this once a week in winter. This recipes also freezes well (without the noodles) I pile my chili high with cheddar cheese and oyester crackers. In fact, I'm making this tonight for dinner. YUM!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
My husband absolutely loves this dish and says it tastes just like he remembers Skyline Chili tasting! However, getting that consistency right perplexes me. I've made it twice and it seems to come out more like meaty tomato paste rather than like spaghetti sauce. I even tried cutting the meat portion in half, but it's still very thick and pasty. Flavorful though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I couldn't taste anything but chili powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This isn't really my favorite kind of food, but my husband absolutely loved it! He mentioned that this chili would also be good used as a sloppy joe type of sandwich filling. We may try that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
If you are looking for a true"skyline chili" I will give a few hints that I remember as a child. I worked for Skyline in my teen yrs. I know that they boil meat not fry and also you must add cinnamon and baking unsweetened cocoa. If I remember right there were about 16 different things we added in all. I do know cocoa and cinnamon is a must have. I lived in cincy most of my life. Anyone from that area knows you always add cocoa and cinnamon. I hope this is help for for those of you looking for a true Skyline chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This is so good I have to give out the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States