Cincinnati Skyline Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I grew up in cincinnati ohio and skyline chili is my all time favorite dinner and it has been since I was about ten and now i'm 20. so now I can make it anytime I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
There are a couple problems with this recipe. First, the real Skyline chili doesn't have this much chili powder if any at all. Second and more serious is that it is way too dry, as a couple people here already mentioned. I have checked a dozen or more Skyline recipes on the internet and most of them mention adding 3 cups or 1 quart of water, which would make the consistancy more like that of Skyline's. As the recipe is here, there is not enough liquid, and it is more like a thick paste. Either this recipe has not been tried by the auther, or she left something out when she typed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This MUST be an aquired taste...either you have grow to love it or pass it up. For me, we will opt to pass. The "taste" isn't bad and maybe it would have been better if it had been a little saucy. If you make it as is, its a little dry to serve over spagehtti noodles. My boyfriend, who thought the taste was good, said the texture was like sloppy joes over spaghetti. Perhaps another can of tomato sauce or the addition of a can of diced tomatoes? Oh well, it was worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This is one of my all time favorite recipes. I grew up in the midwest and this was a staple in our home. My husband is from Southern California and had never heard of this type of chili. He wasn't too crazy about it at first, but now he LOVES it. We have this once a week in winter. This recipes also freezes well (without the noodles) I pile my chili high with cheddar cheese and oyester crackers. In fact, I'm making this tonight for dinner. YUM!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This is so good I have to give out the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This is a great recipe but the meat should not be browned. You should mix the dry ingredents with the the liquids and mix in the meat also instead of 2 cans of tomato sause use 1 can of sause and i can of paste, bring to a rolling boil the reduce and simmer for about and hour to hour and a half. the meat will melt in you mouth. Try it like this i promise it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I couldn't taste anything but chili powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Guess it's something of an acquired taste... Tasted like an odd spaghetti sauce to me, not 'chili'. Not totally bad, but I'll stick to how I'm used to chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This isn't really my favorite kind of food, but my husband absolutely loved it! He mentioned that this chili would also be good used as a sloppy joe type of sandwich filling. We may try that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
My husband absolutely loves this dish and says it tastes just like he remembers Skyline Chili tasting! However, getting that consistency right perplexes me. I've made it twice and it seems to come out more like meaty tomato paste rather than like spaghetti sauce. I even tried cutting the meat portion in half, but it's still very thick and pasty. Flavorful though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States