Cincinnati Skyline Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is as good a recipe for Skyline chili as you'll find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This recipe lacks some key ingredients that are crucial in making Cincinnati Style Chili. One being chocolate and the other being nutmeg. Also you should never ever brown the beef, cook it within the sauce for about 6 hours. Meat will be cooked throughly and be at the consistancy that makes Cincinnati style chili one of a kind and famous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENTUCKYJO
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
it was not skyline chili but it was a good homemade chili. i added some dried chili peppers to the recipe and took them back out before serving the dish. it made it real spicy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
really spicy/pungent must serve over spaghetti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Being born and raised in the Cincinnati area, I grew up on Skyline Chili and I love it. This recipe does not even come close!!! I could go on and on about what is wrong with it but the end result tells the story.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
True Cincinnati Chili (Skyline) does not use chili powder or brown the ground beef and onions. Many years ago I read an article from the owner of Skyline. This original greek recipe prides itself in not using chile powder and it boils the meat and onion. Try it you should enjoy the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I tried this recipe as written and like many others I thought it needed more sauce. Family liked the flavor (I only used about half the chili powder) and said they would eat it again if I fixed it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This recipe was great. Tastes just like Skyline. I did take the advice of some of the other users and I cooked the ground beef in water and broke it up really fine with a whisk. I left the water in and then added the other ingredients and doubled the amount of tomato sauce so it was runnier. Yummy! I also added a little more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This recipe was okay. I added a cup of water, as others commented that the chili was a little too thick. I also chopped the browned ground beef/onion in a food processor. Additionally, I used a little less chili powder and added a couple shots of cayenne pepper sauce and a pinch of unsweetened cocoa powder. My husband thought that this was good, but commented that the flavors didn't meld together quite as well as Skyline. He said that it was "Cincinnati-style" but definitely no Skyline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Adding cinnamon doesn't make it Cincinnati style chili. The ground beef should be cooked in with the boiling water, spices and juice, never browned and then you need to use a hand mixer to chop up the ground beef into a finer texture. Chocolate is a must (bakers chocolate...) This tasted good, but it wasn't Cincinnati style chili... Look elsewhere if you want something closer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barnold

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States