Cincinnati Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This chili turned out really well! Based on other reviews, I tweaked the recipe a bit. I used 1 1/2 tbs of cocoa powder and 1/2 tbs of vegetable oil (per instructions on cocoa box for substituting 1/2 square of baking chocolate). I used 1 tbs of onion powder instead of cooking the onion and left out the vegetable oil that the recipe calls for. I added a few dashes of paprika and a generous sprinkle of garlic powder. To get a texture similar to that of Skyline, I boiled the 2 lbs of beef in the beef broth, and chopped up the meat with the spoon. Next time, I think I will use a leaner ground beef (I just bought the standard stuff). The fat separates from the rest of the chili. Overall, very good recipe! It's not quite like Skyline, but pretty close. It's a very good Cincinnati-style chili recipe in its own right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Cincinnati chili has never been my thing, but my partner LOVES it. I've tried a few recipes, and this is the only one I enjoy. I made it exactly as written and it was quite good. I definitely recommend following the direction to refrigerate overnight and reheat again the next day. We ate some right after cooking and it was OK, but the next day when we reheated the sauce, it was SO much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
We LOVE this recipe! My husband actually likes it better than Skyline. Definitely let it sit in the fridge overnight for the best taste. One of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violinstringer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
VERY close to Skyline Chili... the taste is perfect. I have read some people say the texture is off. The trick for that is to use an immersible blender when you are nearly done with the chili (pull out the bay leaf first). Then the texture is good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Being from the east coast, I didn't even know what Cincinnati chili was until I had it at Hard Times (local DC area chain). I was never really a fain of chili in general until I tried their Cincinnati style chili. It was so good that I went to look up how to make it myself. And on my second attempt I found this recipe. I boil the beef in the broth first like another reviewer has stated. Then I add everything else and simmer for a couple hours. It's been absolutely awesome each time. I love making this recipe, and I now actually have found a type of chili I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Delicious flavor, I think the vinegar and Worchestershire added a lot to this. I would decrease the salt a little bit next time though, but overall, this is the best Cincy chili I have made! I know the onions in the chili aren't exactly "authentic", but I love them. Made this again with ground turkey, and boiled instead of browning. Makes a big difference with the texture (or so I am told, I have never had "real" Cincinnati Chili, only the frozen Skyline stuff. Also, you need WAY more cheese for this. Otherwise, it's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristine
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I have made this quite a few times. My daughter who is one of the pickiest eaters request this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
The flavor is spot on!!!! To get the right texture, do as other reviewers have done and simmer the beef in water to brown, and then drain. This makes the pasty consistency. Also, no unsweetened chocolate squares, subbed 1T of cocoa powder. Thanks! Great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
this is not the cincinnati chile that I made and ate while living there...something is missing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States