Cincinnati Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I ate Skyline all the time growing up in Cincy. This is pretty darn close. I used half the chili powder and cayenne and doubled the chocolate and added about a teaspoon or more of brown sugar. I would use less cloves next time. I browned the meat and chopped it fine with with my metal spatula then removed the fat - ready in about an hour. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Decent, but not a do-again. We tried it with spaghetti the first time, and elbow macaroni with the leftovers. Macaroni was an improvement. The chili had a weird, greasy aftertaste -- to be fair, I did use cheap beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This recipe was great!! We eat at a Skyline or two every time my family passes through the Ohio/Kentucky area where they are prevalent, and I have eaten at the original, with lines out the door for lunch every day, many times. I have tried a number of other recipes for Skyline (Cincinnati) chili (from this site and others)and this is the closest recipe to "the real thing" at the original Skyline (downtown Cincinnati) of all of them--especially when you include the notes from the other reviewers and mine below: 1. if you want the very fine consistency, You must cook the hamburger in the broth first. Then drain, and add back new broth--I recommend using beef bouillon cubes for the broth--works fine, and it's cheap. (You can do this in a crockpot for 12 hours on low, the night before.) However, this recipe comes out just fine if you skip this step. 2. Once beef is browned or cooked with onions: -Do double the cinnamon and increase the chili powder as others recommend -I used at least a tablespoon of onion powder and garlic powder -I substitute 3 tbsp cocoa powder and a tbsp of butter for the chocolate square (cuz I didn't have any the first time)--then add a couple of Dove Milk Chocolate squares for the touch of sweet, where some used molasses--works great 3. Cook the mixture on high in your crockpot or (simmer on the stove) for the time recommended in the recipe, and serve over pasta with finely shredded cheese and finely diced onions as shown in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was great. Froze half of it and can't wait to eat the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
A very good recipe. I loved the flavor of this chili. To add more "kick" to it, try adding hot sauce. We also served this with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GloriJean Harper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I grew up with this dish called three ways. My dad was from Cincinnati so i say this is a real dish of the City. We would just get a good brand of canned chili or left over chili and go from there. It is always yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Items missing from recipe as published: MUST include salt (~1tsp or to taste) MUST drain fat from cooked meat Make those two simply alterations and you'll have fantastic Cincinnati style spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Lorek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Love this recipe. I've made this and served it over penne pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Long Island Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Wonderful. So different than TX chili, and I personally prefer the flavor. The only changes I made were to halve the recipe and increase the cinnamon and chili powder. But those changes are not necessary. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
The flavor is dead on, amazing. The texture, as many have noted is not, but this is a very easy fix. Don't brown the beef. Cook the onions, then add the liquid and the rest of the ingredients, stirring it all together. Bring it to a boil, then add the raw beef, reduce to a simmer. Break the meat up very throughly with a spatula..it will clump if you don't. Cover and cook the suggested time, and this will be exactly as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States