Cincinnati Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
My son worked at Skyline for a while. One thing, though, that I didn't realize that Skyline does for those of you making the Chili Spaghetti is that they put oil and tomato paste in their spaghetti. Odd, I know, but if you're ever at Skyline, look at the spaghetti. It's got a red tint to it. As if you didn't need more grease to go along with the cheese and the boiled, undrained beef. You have to add some oil and some tomato paste to the spaghetti for the true effect. Plus, very finely shredded cheese (which can be hard to find). The finer, the better on the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Browning the meat is the correct way to go, I think. Simply boiling meat from raw is not a good culinary practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Awesome!!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbill29
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is really good but you do not brown the meat first. You mix it with the liquid and break it up with a spatula. The texture is wrong if you brown the meat first. The spice mixture in this recipe is very close to the original Skyline chilli. The original recipe I used was from a book that had a recipe from each state that had that state's signature dish and Cincinnati chilli was Ohio's. Somewhere I misplaced that book and have been searching for this recipe ever since. This is the closest I've found. Definitely serve it over spaghetti, and top with your choice of red beans, chopped onion and shredded cheddar cheese or use all 3. I only put the cheese on mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Taste exactly like Cincinnati chili and I am so glad we found this recipe because we don't get to visit Ohio as much as we would like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by src8784

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I strongly agree with all the previous reviewers that said in order for this to be a "true," genuine Cincinnati chili, you mustn't brown the meat, instead, boil it raw in the broth and chop it into tiny pieces with a spatula. Usually, diced onion is added as a condiment to the finished dish. I happen to love onions, so I'll grate ½ a sweet vidalia onion into a bowl with a box grater. I add it to the simmering beef and it dissolves into the broth. Also, never drain the boiled beef in a sieve to discard the fat. You'll lose the flavor! Instead, refrigerate the finished chili as instructed and you can peel the hardened sheet of excess fat off the top with a spoon. Genuine Cincy chili is finely textured, like a pasta sauce. It's not supposed to be a chunky stew like Texas chili. With a few, very minor adjustments, this recipe is perfect! Thanks Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Update on my last posting. With this recipe and some slight tweaking, I won 2nd place in a Chili cook off against a bunch of Texas Chili's . I wanted to show up with something different because everyone was doing a Texan style chili and it paid off. Try this recipe! It's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I grew up eating skyline and this is as close as your going to get to it! I did boil the beef in beef broth instead of browning it...this is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My wife can not eat beef, so I substituted ground pork and chicken broth for the beef broth. Added some Mushrooms chopped fine and a can of tomatoe paste, doubled the amount of onion. Everyone in the family hates it when I make chili.... And I make really good chili! This recipe with changes has my family raving about Cincinnati Chili. It's not the hot chili I've made but they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I listened to other reviews and boiled the meat first. We left out onions but topped with onions, cheese, sour cream and oyster crackers and served over spaghetti noodles. Hubbie and boys loved it; "5 stars PLUS!" The girls and I didn't think it was bad, we just weren't as excited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States