Cincinnati Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is really good but you do not brown the meat first. You mix it with the liquid and break it up with a spatula. The texture is wrong if you brown the meat first. The spice mixture in this recipe is very close to the original Skyline chilli. The original recipe I used was from a book that had a recipe from each state that had that state's signature dish and Cincinnati chilli was Ohio's. Somewhere I misplaced that book and have been searching for this recipe ever since. This is the closest I've found. Definitely serve it over spaghetti, and top with your choice of red beans, chopped onion and shredded cheddar cheese or use all 3. I only put the cheese on mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Taste exactly like Cincinnati chili and I am so glad we found this recipe because we don't get to visit Ohio as much as we would like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by src8784

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I strongly agree with all the previous reviewers that said in order for this to be a "true," genuine Cincinnati chili, you mustn't brown the meat, instead, boil it raw in the broth and chop it into tiny pieces with a spatula. Usually, diced onion is added as a condiment to the finished dish. I happen to love onions, so I'll grate ½ a sweet vidalia onion into a bowl with a box grater. I add it to the simmering beef and it dissolves into the broth. Also, never drain the boiled beef in a sieve to discard the fat. You'll lose the flavor! Instead, refrigerate the finished chili as instructed and you can peel the hardened sheet of excess fat off the top with a spoon. Genuine Cincy chili is finely textured, like a pasta sauce. It's not supposed to be a chunky stew like Texas chili. With a few, very minor adjustments, this recipe is perfect! Thanks Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Update on my last posting. With this recipe and some slight tweaking, I won 2nd place in a Chili cook off against a bunch of Texas Chili's . I wanted to show up with something different because everyone was doing a Texan style chili and it paid off. Try this recipe! It's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I grew up eating skyline and this is as close as your going to get to it! I did boil the beef in beef broth instead of browning it...this is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My wife can not eat beef, so I substituted ground pork and chicken broth for the beef broth. Added some Mushrooms chopped fine and a can of tomatoe paste, doubled the amount of onion. Everyone in the family hates it when I make chili.... And I make really good chili! This recipe with changes has my family raving about Cincinnati Chili. It's not the hot chili I've made but they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I listened to other reviews and boiled the meat first. We left out onions but topped with onions, cheese, sour cream and oyster crackers and served over spaghetti noodles. Hubbie and boys loved it; "5 stars PLUS!" The girls and I didn't think it was bad, we just weren't as excited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I ate Skyline all the time growing up in Cincy. This is pretty darn close. I used half the chili powder and cayenne and doubled the chocolate and added about a teaspoon or more of brown sugar. I would use less cloves next time. I browned the meat and chopped it fine with with my metal spatula then removed the fat - ready in about an hour. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Decent, but not a do-again. We tried it with spaghetti the first time, and elbow macaroni with the leftovers. Macaroni was an improvement. The chili had a weird, greasy aftertaste -- to be fair, I did use cheap beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This recipe was great!! We eat at a Skyline or two every time my family passes through the Ohio/Kentucky area where they are prevalent, and I have eaten at the original, with lines out the door for lunch every day, many times. I have tried a number of other recipes for Skyline (Cincinnati) chili (from this site and others)and this is the closest recipe to "the real thing" at the original Skyline (downtown Cincinnati) of all of them--especially when you include the notes from the other reviewers: 1. You MUST cook the hamburger in the broth first. I do this in a crockpot for 12 hours on low, the night before! Then drain, and add back new broth--I use broth made from bouillon--works fine, and it's cheap--especially for the part you throw out (I put that in the dog's food!) I also add a can of diced tomatoes for the cook-down 2. In the new mixture -Do double the cinnamon and increase the chili powder as others recommend -I used at least a tablespoon of onion powder and garlic powder -I substitute 3 tbsp cocoa powder and a tbsp of butter for the chocolate square (cuz I didn't have any the first time)--then add a couple of Dove Milk Chocolate squares for the touch of sweet, where some used molasses--works great 3. Cook the new mixture on high in your crockpot or (simmer on the stove) for the time recommended in the recipe, and serve over pasta with finely shredded cheese and finely diced onions as shown in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States