Cincinnati Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
With the exception of the not adding the cloves, we made this recipe as listed and it turned out great. My 4 year old son ate two plate fulls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I thought this was very good. It tasted very similar to the Cincinnati Chili I have had before. My dh hated it, however. He thought it was an offence to all things Italian to serve chili over pasta! I ended up freezing the leftovers in smaller batches and I am using it up by throwing a bag in when I make regular chili. If not for my silly dh, I would make again!;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I too, wanted to duplicate Skyline chili and after reading the wonderful comments, am quite happy to have found this recipe. Making this for a church youth fund raiser, I was making a huge batch. I am SO GRATEFUL for the servings calculator and shopping list functions on this site. I made a batch for 33 servings! Starting with the boiling broth, I crumbled the beef in three batches, using a potato masher at the end of each batch when I no longer saw pink. After the meat had boiled a while I removed from heat and skimmed the fat, then adding additional broth. I also substituted onion powder for the chopped onion. (1/3 cup = 1 teaspoon onion powder) This is a great recipe that should win the hearts of any Skyline Chili fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I made this over the weekend here in the DC area for people that were Ohio Natives... I was told that this tasted exactly like Skyline Chili - which I never had. My only change to the recipe was adding some pepper and salt - and I topped it with some finely chopped raw onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hancock, New York, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I am originally from Cincy who has relocated. I missed Skyline in the grocery stores after I moved. I discovered this recipe and to my suprise, it comes VERY close to Skyline Chili. I love it! And it isn't that difficult!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I thought this recipe was great. I've never been a fan of traditional style chili. This one is a keeper. Will difinately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Never having had skyline chili I did not know what to expect, this was pretty good but FOR me I think the cloves were too strong, i would decrease or eliminate thank you, different but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made a few changes and this chili turned out really good. I used a chuck roast and cut it into small pieces and I omitted the chocolate,not because I didn't want to use it, but because I didn't have any on hand. Anyway, I simmered it until that beef got really tender-- and wow! Because my husband doesn't like chili with beans and I do, I cooked some black beans on the side to add to mine... delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
lots of ingredients, but worth all of them. i made this according to the recipe and was very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I read this recipe the other day and went to the freezer to take out some ground beef! I love this kind of chili, and have been making it for a few years after having first tried not in Cincinnati but in Chicago. I'm not a bean person and I love the whole cinnamon and chocolate thing going on in this chili. Anyway, my recipe is nearly the same but I puree the onion in a food processer as this chili should be smooth in texture. It then goes right in with the meat. I also add sour cream as one of the toppings. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States