Cincinnati Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and boiled my beef in the broth for approx. 1 hour and then gave it a few quick buzzes with the immersion blender to achieve the right consistency, then followed the rest of the recipe to the letter, served over spaghetti with chili beans, chopped onions, shredded cheddar, oyster crackers and hot sauce on the side. A PERFECT 5 way, and totally worth all of the prep time, including the chilling overnight. My fiance had never had Cincinnati Chili before and was a little skeptical, but one bite and he was hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
My husband loves spicy foods. I prefer less heat and more flavors. Either way, this combination of flavors was not for us. Being it way our first time making this, I followed the recipe to a "t", with the exception of boiling the meat. We are not from the East coast. I believe it must be an acquired taste because there are so many great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I make a knockoff version that is really close to this, as we are Cincy natives currently living in Germany and we need our Skyline fix;) the changes I make are to use cocoa powder in the place of the chocolate bar, and to just throw the hamburger, onions, and beef stock in the pot to brown together (don't drain; I recommend a leaner hamburger;) then once browned, add the rest of the ingredients and simmer until the consistency desired. I also put the chili in a blender and blend for like 5-7 seconds to get the consistency of the restaurant: smooth and without chunks! PS: onions are needed in the recipe as well as put on top along with tons of shredded cheese and oyster crackers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My husband has craved Cincinnati chili ever since he went to school there. He claims this taste very similar to the real thing and asks for this meal often. Great spin on a comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Hurwitz
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I am not big on chili but I love this one! There are no beans and it is very rich and concentrated. I have made this many times, it is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Hurwitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
used 3 T cocoa mix in lieu of chocolate used extra cinnamon, and didn't use cayenne pepper, I like spice, but it was spicy enough. Added one can of pinto beans. Next time I will add two cans either pinto or kidney. Overall great flavors and I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We made this recipe in my chili class today and we all gave it a high five for flavor. I think making it a day or so ahead would bump it up even more. This was delicious and I am not from Cincinnati. Next time, I would add more cinnamon and chili powder. A veg version without ground beef would not stop me from trying it with tempeh, TVP or some veg burgers crumbled into the sauce. It's all about the FLAVOR! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is an authentic Cincinnati-style chilli recipe! Tastes just like gold star chilli!!! With minor modification just as some of the other posts. I boiled the ground beef in the beef broth and added an extra teaspoon of ground cinnamon and an extra teaspoon of ground cumin and it came out perfect! With my serving adjustments to 20 servings, I was able to make a full five quart crock pot of cincinnati style chilli. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I love this stuff! I've made it many times. I make exactly as it's written. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Perfect on a cold snowy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States