Cincinnati Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
used 3 T cocoa mix in lieu of chocolate used extra cinnamon, and didn't use cayenne pepper, I like spice, but it was spicy enough. Added one can of pinto beans. Next time I will add two cans either pinto or kidney. Overall great flavors and I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We made this recipe in my chili class today and we all gave it a high five for flavor. I think making it a day or so ahead would bump it up even more. This was delicious and I am not from Cincinnati. Next time, I would add more cinnamon and chili powder. A veg version without ground beef would not stop me from trying it with tempeh, TVP or some veg burgers crumbled into the sauce. It's all about the FLAVOR! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is an authentic Cincinnati-style chilli recipe! Tastes just like gold star chilli!!! With minor modification just as some of the other posts. I boiled the ground beef in the beef broth and added an extra teaspoon of ground cinnamon and an extra teaspoon of ground cumin and it came out perfect! With my serving adjustments to 20 servings, I was able to make a full five quart crock pot of cincinnati style chilli. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I love this stuff! I've made it many times. I make exactly as it's written. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Perfect on a cold snowy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
My son worked at Skyline for a while. One thing, though, that I didn't realize that Skyline does for those of you making the Chili Spaghetti is that they put oil and tomato paste in their spaghetti. Odd, I know, but if you're ever at Skyline, look at the spaghetti. It's got a red tint to it. As if you didn't need more grease to go along with the cheese and the boiled, undrained beef. You have to add some oil and some tomato paste to the spaghetti for the true effect. Plus, very finely shredded cheese (which can be hard to find). The finer, the better on the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Browning the meat is the correct way to go, I think. Simply boiling meat from raw is not a good culinary practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Awesome!!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbill29
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is really good but you do not brown the meat first. You mix it with the liquid and break it up with a spatula. The texture is wrong if you brown the meat first. The spice mixture in this recipe is very close to the original Skyline chilli. The original recipe I used was from a book that had a recipe from each state that had that state's signature dish and Cincinnati chilli was Ohio's. Somewhere I misplaced that book and have been searching for this recipe ever since. This is the closest I've found. Definitely serve it over spaghetti, and top with your choice of red beans, chopped onion and shredded cheddar cheese or use all 3. I only put the cheese on mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Taste exactly like Cincinnati chili and I am so glad we found this recipe because we don't get to visit Ohio as much as we would like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by src8784

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States