Cilantro and Garlic Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Enjoyed these potatoes very much. Instead of deep frying potatoes, I baked them in the oven then added them to the skillet with cilantro and garlic mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
i stink at frying in oil (and i dont care for the taste), so i baked my potatoes instead at 400 for 25 min. then continued with the recipe. perfect! my two favorite flavors in one dish--could it be anymore delicious?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anelastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I am Syrian and my mom makes these potatoes all the time. To prevent the potatoes from getting soggy, let the potatoes drain and cool completely--that way they'll be dry and won't become soggy when you add them to sauce. We don't use cumin or lemon juice, but add just a little olive oil when cooking the garlic/cilantro mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I LOVE the unique, delicious flavors of this dish ! To cook the potatoes & cut down on the grease and prep-time, I took the new potatoes, poked holes in them w/ a fork and microwaved them (5+ minutes). Then i cut them into quarters and continued with the sauce as written, including the cumin and lemon. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
OMG this is sooo tasty! Yum! Too bad we can only go as high as 5 stars since this deserves at least 10! I've had this before, although without the cumin. I believe the first time I had it, it had some sort of hot pepper, perhaps jalapeno, added. This version is really, really, really good. I love this alongside barbecued steak. You can't beat the flavors! "Shukrahn" Lebanese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
absolutely delicious!!I thought it might be a little bland but it wasnt at all! I sprinkled the potatoes with Cavenders All Purpose Greek seasoning first. I dont have a deep fryer so I just heated about an inch of oil in a pan and fried them in there for about 15 min until they were golden. I put them aside on paper towels and drained most all the oil and added the garlic and cilantro for like 5 min until the garlic crisped and added yhe potatos and the rest of the ingredients and it was sooo good! I served them with some naan (indian flat bread) and yoghurt with salt,pepper, and cucumber and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This is delicious. Instead of deep frying, I simply sauted the potatoes first in a little olive oil. When they were nearly done I added the cilanto (only used about 1/4) and garlic and continued to saute. Then added cumin, lemon, and salt. Fabulous flavors! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
You do NOT have to deep fry these! Slice your potatoes very thin and sautee in a pan with some olive oil. We didn't have lemon juice on hand so we left it out, but these were AWESOME! I'm rating it a four only because I changed the cooking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Tastes great with a creamy garlic sauceas a dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
These were really good, nice combination of flavors. Serve immediately, or they will go soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States