Cilantro and Garlic Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I am a big potato fan so My 5 star rating may not be entirely fair, but these really did come out perfect. I made use of the advice of others though, and baked them first. I drizzled EVO on them and baked for 35 minutes at 400 degrees. I chopped up fresh garlic and onion and sauteed with Cilantro and parley. After the potatoes were finished I tossed them into the saute mixture and cooked together for about 5 minutes. When finished I put in serving bowl and tossed with some lime juice for the extra zest. Delicious! Even excellent when re-heated. I served with homemade black bean and chicken burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I really enjoyed these. I did not deep fry the potatoes though. I cubed them and fried them in about 4 tablespoons of canola oil. I took the suggestions of others and fried the potatoes first, removed them, sauteed the garlic and cilantro, put the potatoes back in the skillet and tossed with cumin and drizzled lemon on top. Served with steaks. Very nice! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I really liked the sound of this recipe. After reading through it, I decided to scale it back and change the cooking process without compromising the dish. My first step was to fry the potatoes in a skillet using about 3-4 Tbsp. of vegetable oil. Once cooked, I removed the potatoes with a slotted spoon and then sauteed the cilantro and garlic in the remaining oil, following the recipe directions from that point on. Great recipe and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
These are great! I snack on them or if Im feeling super guilty like Ill eat a whole batch for myself! The only thing I do different if is that I dont add the lemon juice to the oil in step two, I usually top the tatter off with a good squeeze since I love the taste of lemon so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
You do NOT have to deep fry these! Slice your potatoes very thin and sautee in a pan with some olive oil. We didn't have lemon juice on hand so we left it out, but these were AWESOME! I'm rating it a four only because I changed the cooking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Wonderful! All four of my kiddos loved this!!! The only change I made was to add more lemon juice - I think 3 Tbs. in all. It was half of a very large lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I tried this like two weeks ago and it was delicious! I baked the potatoes inthe oven to cut some calories and add an extra lime to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I omitted the cumin and I thought this was tasty and my Saudi friend said it tasted like he was used to back home, only they dip the potatoes in labna, a middle eastern yogurt. I will definitely try that next time as I already love labna with french fries! I think that would make this a 5 star recipe for me then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Good but needed a little something else?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
We love garlic. We love cilantro. We love potatoes. I followed the recipe exactly. So why didn't we love this dish? It just lacked "umph". Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States