Cilantro Tomato Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I made this recipe as a side dish for a spicy beer can chicken, thinking it would be a nice combo of zip (taste) and cool (by serving it chilled). While I thought it would be an okay accompaniment, I had no idea it would be the hit that it was. Everyone who tried it ended up getting seconds. My husband voted it "a keeper"; he just asked that I saute' the onions a little longer next time as he's not a big fan of crunchy onions, preferring them softer. I only made one change to this recipe and that was to use frozen corn, which I "nuked" to thaw out before adding it to the other ingredients waiting in the skillet. The only reason was that it's not "corn season" yet, and I was too impatient to wait that long to give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Absolutely wonderful. I used what I had on hand: frozen corn (about 3 cups), a little yellow onion, and a regular tomato. I sauted the corn, onion, and garlic in 2 T butter and then added the tomato, jalepeno, cilantro (about a 1/4 bunch), chopped green onion, and lemon pepper and salt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eptrox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saluda, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Great salad! I had some left over roasted corn so I used that vs. microwaving. I also left out the melted butter and did a dressing made of olive oil, lime juice and a bit of sugar whisked together with a few dashes of salt and pepper. I poured that over top and let the salad chill for a couple hours before serving. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
A great light side dish! Perfect served chilled. I grilled the ears of corn, added avocado and black-eyed peas, and took out the peppers and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
The cilantro in this recipe is overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Black beans never hurt this recipe either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I added a little lime juice, cut way back on the butter, left out the jalepeno (kids were eating this) and added diced red peppers. I also pickeled the red onions in rice wine vinegar over night, then added them to the salad. AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Delicious salad. I sauted the corn (after boiling the ears of corn and cutting off cob), red bell pepper, and red onion in the butter for about 5 minutes. I didn't use the garlic. Then after this mix chilled... I added the cilantro and tomato and spices. I served it in the center of a bed of leaf lettuce salad. The presentation was pretty and it was a hit at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Excellent side dish to our enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
LOVE this. I only used about 2 T. butter, and 1/2 a jalapeno. I also added about 3/4 cups cooked black beans-- perfecto! This also makes a fantastic salsa type dip for tortilla chips. Mmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States