Cilantro Tomato Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Used half the butter and it was still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I scaled this down to two ears of corn. Not wanting raw onion, I sauteed it with the jalapeno for ~ 8 min in butter. I then added the corn, tomato and cilantro and cooked for a few min and added salt and pepper. I tossed it with a dressing of olive oil, lime juice and a bit of sugar. I forgot to add the garlic and added it after the fact. To be honest, it tasted better without it. Very nice blend of different flavors. Thanks Ds R!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Everyone loves this recipe, there is nothing like fresh corn. The only change I made was to put the onions in a microwaveable bowl and put the butter on top then melted it. It cooked and softens the onions a bit. This is a great alternative to corn on the cob or a great way to use leftover corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Was really good..will maybe try a bit less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is an EXCELLENT side dish. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is tasty either as a side dish or as a garnish for other meat or seafood. I don't know that the butter is particularly necessary. Yes, it may add a slight richness to the flavor, but it also adds calories too. I will probably leave the butter out or reduce it next time. I used fresh tomatoes, corn, and jalapeno peppers, which really jacked up the freshness factor of this recipe. It's refreshing and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Oh yum! I just happened to have a bunch of fresh cilantro and a couple of tomatoes that were needing to be used when I stumbled upon this recipe. I saute the onion & garlic in 2 T. olive oil as I want to eat this chilled (if it lasts that long) and reading other reviews, it sounds like the butter doesn't quite work well on the chilled salad. The I added 3 cups thawed corn, a can of black beans (rinsed), and since I was out of lemon pepper seasoning, I just added lemon juice and pepper. Took everything off the heat and added the cilantro, tomatoes, a diced green onion, and some salt. Then since it seemed to still be missing some flavor, I added a little (a couple taps maybe?) bit of lime juice. Very good. Light and guilt free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
We enjoyed this very much. I served it warm, added spices to give it some heat...cayenne pepper and cumin (one of my favorite spices). A nice accompaniment to our 4th of July meal. Used frozen corn and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was a really good dish and we all really enjoyed it, but next time I will make one change. I made this up in the morning so that the flavors would have all day to meld, because I wanted to serve it cold. The ingredients worked really well together, but the melted butter was odd for a cold dish. Of course, as the dish chilled the butter did also. It left a funny looking coating on the corn and tomatoes. If I was serving this warm, I think the butter would have worked. The next time I will sub olive oil in place of the butter. I am still giving this dish 5-stars because everyone liked it and said “yes” to me making it again. This will be really good when the fresh summer corn and tomatoes are in season in Indiana. Thank you Ds. R for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I loved this. Didn't think I would because I don't like cilantro very much. I also only used half a jalapeno because I wanted my kids to eat it. :) Great flavor all around. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Hines Severson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States