Cilantro Tomato Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Everyone loves this recipe, there is nothing like fresh corn. The only change I made was to put the onions in a microwaveable bowl and put the butter on top then melted it. It cooked and softens the onions a bit. This is a great alternative to corn on the cob or a great way to use leftover corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Was really good..will maybe try a bit less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is an EXCELLENT side dish. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is tasty either as a side dish or as a garnish for other meat or seafood. I don't know that the butter is particularly necessary. Yes, it may add a slight richness to the flavor, but it also adds calories too. I will probably leave the butter out or reduce it next time. I used fresh tomatoes, corn, and jalapeno peppers, which really jacked up the freshness factor of this recipe. It's refreshing and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Oh yum! I just happened to have a bunch of fresh cilantro and a couple of tomatoes that were needing to be used when I stumbled upon this recipe. I saute the onion & garlic in 2 T. olive oil as I want to eat this chilled (if it lasts that long) and reading other reviews, it sounds like the butter doesn't quite work well on the chilled salad. The I added 3 cups thawed corn, a can of black beans (rinsed), and since I was out of lemon pepper seasoning, I just added lemon juice and pepper. Took everything off the heat and added the cilantro, tomatoes, a diced green onion, and some salt. Then since it seemed to still be missing some flavor, I added a little (a couple taps maybe?) bit of lime juice. Very good. Light and guilt free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
We enjoyed this very much. I served it warm, added spices to give it some heat...cayenne pepper and cumin (one of my favorite spices). A nice accompaniment to our 4th of July meal. Used frozen corn and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was a really good dish and we all really enjoyed it, but next time I will make one change. I made this up in the morning so that the flavors would have all day to meld, because I wanted to serve it cold. The ingredients worked really well together, but the melted butter was odd for a cold dish. Of course, as the dish chilled the butter did also. It left a funny looking coating on the corn and tomatoes. If I was serving this warm, I think the butter would have worked. The next time I will sub olive oil in place of the butter. I am still giving this dish 5-stars because everyone liked it and said “yes” to me making it again. This will be really good when the fresh summer corn and tomatoes are in season in Indiana. Thank you Ds. R for sharing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I loved this. Didn't think I would because I don't like cilantro very much. I also only used half a jalapeno because I wanted my kids to eat it. :) Great flavor all around. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akseverson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This is the first time I've ever reviewed a recipe although I use this site all the time. This is really yummy. I left out the tomato and used finely chopped fresh red pepper for color. Used green onions instead of red onions. Added a big squeeze of both lime and lemon juice & nch of cumin. So many veggies could be added to this delicious and easy salad. I'm serving it with the Refried Beans Without the Refry & Sour Cream Chicken (but I use beef) Enchiladas --both from this site. Much better than any Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I'm not quite sure if this is a 4 star, but it wasn't a 3 star either. Somewhere in between. The mix of veggies was definitely a hit. The butter sorta laid a thickness on it that just wasn't what I was hoping for. I wanted something lighter. I'm not sure what I'd do to it, to make it pleasing to me and my family but I'm not giving up on it. I'll keep trying and keep y'all posted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States