Cilantro Tabouli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is my first time making Tabouli. The only Tabouli I have ever had is from my local grocery store and love its refreshing taste, but it cost four bucks for an 8 oz. container. I read the reviews and added an extra tomato and more onion and herbs. When the bulgur was ready to add it was a huge amount (swelled to twice as much)...much more bulger than vegtables which differs fromthe kind I like from my grocery store. So I just added about half of it to my veggie mixture. I don't know what traditional Tabouli is supposed to be like, but prefer more veggies than the bulgur. I let this sit in the refrigerator overnight and it taste much better today...I do suggest making it a day ahead for the flavors to blend. It is a nice refreshing salad on a hot sunny afternoon. I will make again but only with half as much bulger wheat and twice as much vegetable/herb mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is a good base recipe. Per the reviews many felt the results were a bit flat or lacked zip so I tweaked it a bit. First: when cooking the wheat, I salted the water the way you would if cooking pasta. I then didn't need to add salt to the salad. Second: I doubled the cumin. Third: I substituted lime for lemon Forth: I made it 24 hour ahead so the flavors had plenty of time to marinate. The result was a knock out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I thought this was tasty, but wasn't exactly what I had in mind. The ratio of bulgur to the other ingredients was too much. It seemed like more of a bulgur salad, as opposed to tabouli, where I expect the herbs to shine through more. The lemon overpowered the cilantro so much that cilantro wasn't the main flavor, which is what I was hoping for. That being said, it was good, and healthy. I would make it again and just have different expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I heart Cilantro and this was fantastic. I replaced 1/4 cup of Bulgar Wheat with Barley just to give it more OOMPH and used Cannellini beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerluver1277

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I wasn't sure if I liked this recipe at first because it seemed the bulgur wheat overpowered the other ingredients. However, I changed my mind after it set in the fridge overnight. The cilantro flavor was stronger and overall more flavorful. I think next time though I will add more garlic (4 cloves) and cilantro (bring it up to 1 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bronwyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Absolutely delicious! My class used this recipe in a menu prepared for 100 people and everyone loved it. My only complaint is that the recipe does not tell you which size of bulgur grain to use. We used medium grind bulgur and it cooked perfectly at the recommended soaking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I just got a little taste of this and it's delicious! I'm sure it will be wonderful with our chicken kebabs for tonights dinner. This was my first time making tabouli. I acually used wheat berries which are harder and take longer to cook; next time I will buy the bulgur wheat. I skipped the cumin added some cucumber anda little mint because I have it growing wild in my yard; I also used some grape tomatoes that I sliced, it looks beautiful with all the bright colors! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This is delicious! I made this as stated, with the exception of using 2 tbl fresh lime juice instead of lemon juice. I'm just not a fan of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Okay since I don't know what authentic Tabouli tastes like, I will give this a 4 out of 5. Maybe my lemons were too big but wowser, it was very lemony. I also used cracked wheat and flat leaf parsley because both bulgar & fresh cilantro are difficult to find in my stores. Will make this again, but cut back on the lemon juice. The recipe also should have stated that the wheat should be cooled before adding the rest of ingredients. I had to put the complete salad in the freezer just to get it cool enough for dinner. Definitely best made early in the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
this was the first time I made this recipe too, I had it at my fiance's dad's house a few weeks ago with salmon it was one of the best salads I have ever had, I did do a few things different I added a cucumber and a jalapeno to it and no cumin... Best salad u can make it's refreshing and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BabyBoyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States