Cilantro Tabouli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I always wanted to try tabouli but I hate mint (not even in toothpaste). This gave me a great way to have it. I'm even thinking parsley could work too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
It was pretty good and a great, refreshing dish for the summer. My friends thought it needed a little something added to it, but we couldn't put our finger on what. They still ate a ton of it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I used quinoa instead of bulger. 2 lemons is too much. Use 1 and add more if you think it's needed. Overall, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was excellent alternative to the reg salads.Used a tad more lime juice.My hubby is not a fan of tabouli and really liked this salad.I think it was the cilantro.Great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is my first time making Tabouli. The only Tabouli I have ever had is from my local grocery store and love its refreshing taste, but it cost four bucks for an 8 oz. container. I read the reviews and added an extra tomato and more onion and herbs. When the bulgur was ready to add it was a huge amount (swelled to twice as much)...much more bulger than vegtables which differs fromthe kind I like from my grocery store. So I just added about half of it to my veggie mixture. I don't know what traditional Tabouli is supposed to be like, but prefer more veggies than the bulgur. I let this sit in the refrigerator overnight and it taste much better today...I do suggest making it a day ahead for the flavors to blend. It is a nice refreshing salad on a hot sunny afternoon. I will make again but only with half as much bulger wheat and twice as much vegetable/herb mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is a good base recipe. Per the reviews many felt the results were a bit flat or lacked zip so I tweaked it a bit. First: when cooking the wheat, I salted the water the way you would if cooking pasta. I then didn't need to add salt to the salad. Second: I doubled the cumin. Third: I substituted lime for lemon Forth: I made it 24 hour ahead so the flavors had plenty of time to marinate. The result was a knock out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I have to say that going into this I was not a Tabouli fan and I'd never prepared bulgur before. I followed the recipe to the letter, including using fresh lemons which I almost never buy. I made this the night before I tried it. First bite I was still not convinced and had visions of throwing it out. But I perservered and I found myself enjoying the fresh flavor. I think it would benefit from more cilantro. I will finish what I have but I'm not sure I will make it again. Hubs said after three bites he would pass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I really liked this dish because i luv cilantro so much. I will def make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I wasn't sure if I liked this recipe at first because it seemed the bulgur wheat overpowered the other ingredients. However, I changed my mind after it set in the fridge overnight. The cilantro flavor was stronger and overall more flavorful. I think next time though I will add more garlic (4 cloves) and cilantro (bring it up to 1 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bronwyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Absolutely delicious! My class used this recipe in a menu prepared for 100 people and everyone loved it. My only complaint is that the recipe does not tell you which size of bulgur grain to use. We used medium grind bulgur and it cooked perfectly at the recommended soaking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States