Cilantro Serrano Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I have to be honest, I made changes to fit what I had on hand. But it still turned out great! I made 3 cups of sauce instead of two. CHANGES (for 3 c. sauce): 3 fresh green chilies (seeded) + 2 dried bird's eye chilies (seeds in). Had no mayo, used equal amounts cream cheese and plain Greek yogurt to sub. Added about 2 tbs. fresh lemon juice, and 2 tbs. fresh minced green onion. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND adding the lemon and green onion. The sauce beforehand was good but seemed a little flat, like it was missing something (hence 4 stars). This really brought out the flavors and enhanced the sauce. Also, we like it hot, but not so hot you have to take a "mouth break" to keep your mouth from feeling like it's burning. This seemed to be the perfect amount of heat for us. Mine turned out to be more of a sauce consistency than a dip (although for my purposes I kinda wished it was more like a dip). Still tasted great! We put the sauce in a jar and I put the rest that couldn't fit in a cup, and I ended up literally drinking it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I didn't have cream, so I used 1/2 Greek yogurt & 1/2 light mayo. I also didn't read very well, so I mixed it altogether and added a little freshly squeezed lime juice to make it more creamy. It was delicious! Very easy, I'll definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
AMAZING! My husband and I loved this recipe. We made it exactly as directed for fish tacos and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is sinfully delicious and very addicting. It has become a staple in our house along with a party favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I made this into more of a salsa because I have a ton of serrano peppers. I used about 8 serranos broiled with garlic and a bit of onion for about 7 min. Pureed them with the cilantro added 4 tbs of lemon juice 1/4 c vegananise and 1/4 c plain yogurt instead of cream. Add salt to taste. It did make significantly less all together but the lemon really brings out the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Served over fish tacos. Very good! I added the juice of one lime, which freshened up the taste a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I've finally found the perfect sauce for fish tacos! I made this a little on the lighter side using low fat mayo and replacing the cream with plain yogurt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Loved this, I did add more cilantro. Used it on grilled torta bread with grilled chicken breasts and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
SO awesome!!! Great flavor! If you like heat and cilantro, you will love this.... My bf insists we have a batch of this in the fridge always!!... I must admit, I did add a pinch of cumin and it was great both ways!!.... thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
My favorite very spicy I added garlic, jalapenos and a little lime juice. Its great on rice or seafood tacos. Can be used on anything you want to give a kick to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States