Cilantro Serrano Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Used half n half in place of the heavy cream and added a bit extra cilantro. Used 4 peppers. This was so easy and outstanding. Took the fish tacos to amazing. Very spicy, but we love spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Perfect for sauce or dip. Really great recipe. I left the seeds in the peppers and it heated it up almost too much. Almost ;-) one of my new favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This is a great little kick! If you want more spice, add another Serrano pepper. I added a little more garlic as well. I would advise using fresh garlic and pressing it yourself instead of going with jarred garlic. This sauce goes awesome on grilled mahi-mahi tacos and fresh burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Heavy cream, no. 1 cup mayo, no. Did One cup of sour cream, and half cup of mayo, hellman's olive oil mayo. And halved a large jalapeno, seeded half, kept the veins. The rest I followed to the letter, A splash, probably tsp of lime or lemon. DID NOT ADD SALT. Used a blender. After fish taco's it was a great verde goddess dressing. Very potent, but held up for several days, and got better every day. Oh, man, done with ranch..... Solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bong Jahworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
it was easy and delicious!! loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
My family raved about this sauce. I served it on blackened fish tacos. My husband said it was better than any he had ever had. I substituted 1/2 cup sour cream for 1/2 cup of the heavy cream. I did not have Serrano chili peppers so I substituted about a tsp of some sauce from a can of adobe peppers I had in my pantry. This is an excellent base recipe and I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Loved it! Thank you for such a great recipe. I had a very ripe Avocado so I threw in. I used this on a broccoli slaw for fish tacos. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I have to be honest, I made changes to fit what I had on hand. But it still turned out great! I made 3 cups of sauce instead of two. CHANGES (for 3 c. sauce): 3 fresh green chilies (seeded) + 2 dried bird's eye chilies (seeds in). Had no mayo, used equal amounts cream cheese and plain Greek yogurt to sub. Added about 2 tbs. fresh lemon juice, and 2 tbs. fresh minced green onion. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND adding the lemon and green onion. The sauce beforehand was good but seemed a little flat, like it was missing something (hence 4 stars). This really brought out the flavors and enhanced the sauce. Also, we like it hot, but not so hot you have to take a "mouth break" to keep your mouth from feeling like it's burning. This seemed to be the perfect amount of heat for us. Mine turned out to be more of a sauce consistency than a dip (although for my purposes I kinda wished it was more like a dip). Still tasted great! We put the sauce in a jar and I put the rest that couldn't fit in a cup, and I ended up literally drinking it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I didn't have cream, so I used 1/2 Greek yogurt & 1/2 light mayo. I also didn't read very well, so I mixed it altogether and added a little freshly squeezed lime juice to make it more creamy. It was delicious! Very easy, I'll definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
AMAZING! My husband and I loved this recipe. We made it exactly as directed for fish tacos and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States