Cilantro Serrano Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Used half n half in place of the heavy cream and added a bit extra cilantro. Used 4 peppers. This was so easy and outstanding. Took the fish tacos to amazing. Very spicy, but we love spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Perfect for sauce or dip. Really great recipe. I left the seeds in the peppers and it heated it up almost too much. Almost ;-) one of my new favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
This is a great little kick! If you want more spice, add another Serrano pepper. I added a little more garlic as well. I would advise using fresh garlic and pressing it yourself instead of going with jarred garlic. This sauce goes awesome on grilled mahi-mahi tacos and fresh burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Heavy cream, no. 1 cup mayo, no. Did One cup of sour cream, and half cup of mayo, hellman's olive oil mayo. And halved a large jalapeno, seeded half, kept the veins. The rest I followed to the letter, A splash, probably tsp of lime or lemon. DID NOT ADD SALT. Used a blender. After fish taco's it was a great verde goddess dressing. Very potent, but held up for several days, and got better every day. Oh, man, done with ranch..... Solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bong Jahworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
it was easy and delicious!! loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
My family raved about this sauce. I served it on blackened fish tacos. My husband said it was better than any he had ever had. I substituted 1/2 cup sour cream for 1/2 cup of the heavy cream. I did not have Serrano chili peppers so I substituted about a tsp of some sauce from a can of adobe peppers I had in my pantry. This is an excellent base recipe and I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Loved it! Thank you for such a great recipe. I had a very ripe Avocado so I threw in. I used this on a broccoli slaw for fish tacos. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I have to be honest, I made changes to fit what I had on hand. But it still turned out great! I made 3 cups of sauce instead of two. CHANGES (for 3 c. sauce): 3 fresh green chilies (seeded) + 2 dried bird's eye chilies (seeds in). Had no mayo, used equal amounts cream cheese and plain Greek yogurt to sub. Added about 2 tbs. fresh lemon juice, and 2 tbs. fresh minced green onion. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND adding the lemon and green onion. The sauce beforehand was good but seemed a little flat, like it was missing something (hence 4 stars). This really brought out the flavors and enhanced the sauce. Also, we like it hot, but not so hot you have to take a "mouth break" to keep your mouth from feeling like it's burning. This seemed to be the perfect amount of heat for us. Mine turned out to be more of a sauce consistency than a dip (although for my purposes I kinda wished it was more like a dip). Still tasted great! We put the sauce in a jar and I put the rest that couldn't fit in a cup, and I ended up literally drinking it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I didn't have cream, so I used 1/2 Greek yogurt & 1/2 light mayo. I also didn't read very well, so I mixed it altogether and added a little freshly squeezed lime juice to make it more creamy. It was delicious! Very easy, I'll definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
AMAZING! My husband and I loved this recipe. We made it exactly as directed for fish tacos and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States