Cilantro-Lime Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Compared to "that burrito place" (which I frequent at LEAST once a week), this comes close, but not enough for me to use as a substitute for my "burrito place's" rice fix. I wanted to leave the chicken bouillon out, but I always make my recipes as-is (or as close as I can) on the first run through. To anyone who is skeptical: leave it out, or cut the amount in half. I've tried another recipe with much better results, Google "Chipotle Copycat Lime Rice."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This isn't really that good. We doubled the recipe and were anxious to make it due to the fact that we enjoy that certain "burrito place" that they claim it tastes like. However, such was not the case. I don't know if it is because we used a rice cooker but it just didn't turn out that well. The taste was a lot more like chicken when I was expecting more lime and cilantro. I would probably cut the chicken bullion is half and add more lime juice and cilantro. Still, we put it in burrito shells with seasoned chicken...not too bad, not too good. Sorry no picture...just looked like rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdPeters1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I used a bit less lime juice than the recipe calls for after reading the reviews. Also I the cilantro (plus a bit extra chopped finely) just before the rice finished cooking to allow the extra heat to increase the cilantro flavor. Turned out quite well and went great with the mexican dish I was making. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
The chicken bouillon granules kills the lime and cilantro taste. Use plain water instead and you will get the taste that you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
an additional note: this recipe had the water measurements for high altitude (denver, co) and should be adjusted for other cities
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This was light and fresh tasting and we both loved the lime/cilantro blend of flavors. Hubs and I enjoy cilantro in mild amounts so I reduced it by about half but prepared the rest of the recipe just as directed. The chicken bouillon rounded out the flavors and just for a little richness I added a dab of butter. This is a delicately flavored rice, perfectly suited for more highly seasoned main dishes. I used this as the side dish for "Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa," also from this site. It was a delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
When I was done revving up this recipe it was good, but the base recipe was just average. I’m taking it to a work potluck and we have several vegetarians there (so I nixed the chicken bouillon) as some of the reviews suggested. I think it would have been better with the bouillon. Anyhow... I used brown rice.....added a can of black beans (drained and rinsed), garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes, and some cumin. Kosher salt, and fresh ground pepper. It’s much better, but...when I tasted the original recipe there was NO WAY I would have taken this to a potluck “as is” because it was just to bland. I have a reputation to uphold...lolol I think it would be best layered into a big ol’ bathtub burrito as filler (as opposed to an actual side dish). Or maybe with some delish marinated flank steak served over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Turned out pretty good! We used basmati rice- it is what the burrito places use and can be found at most grocery stores. Just be sure to follow the cook time that the rice package recommends as we overcooked ours! Will be try this in some different burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I'm not the biggest fan of cilantro (I'm of the camp who thinks it tastes soapy) but I tolerated this okay because I reduced the amount some. Loved the lime. I used chicken broth instead of the water and bouillon. This was darn good and I added some butter which made it even better. Four stars even with the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I don't think this tastes much like "that popular burrito place", but there's nothing majorly wrong with this recipe. I cut the bouillon in half and doubled the cilantro and lime. This recipe could benefit from a little cumin and garlic, but it's a good base. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States