Cilantro Lime Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is the best quinoa I've made to date - absolutely flavorful. I made a few modifications though. I excluded the avocado and corn altogether and replaced the mango with pineapple. Additionally, I added fresh, chopped tomatoes and scallions. I cooked the pineapple with the quinoa to provide some sweetness to balance the spice. I added the tomatoes, scallions, cilantro, and lime juice at the end after the quinoa was done cooking but still hot in the skillet. The last modification involved replacing the fresh jalapeno with an extremely spicy sauce called Sun in a Bottle - I'm not sure if you can find it in the States.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This recipe was amazing. I did it without the avocado, and it was still unbelievably delicious. I'm going for round two today and adding a second jalapeno because I love spicy food. The first time round you could barely notice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This is a great dish - full of flavor and perfect for the summer grilling season. Didn't make it with corn, and didn't miss it at all. Love to eat as a side dish or as a small meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I was most disappointed with this recipe Where was the flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Interesting combo of flavors, but it works well. I used the whole onion, left out the corn, and put more cilantro than called for. I also used a 50/50 mixture of regular and red quinoa, which made it more visually interesting. I couldn't really taste the jalapeno, and I even used the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I love the mix of flavors in this recipe. Made as submitted. YUM! thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is NOW my favorite quinoa recipe! In addition to the lime juice, I grated the zest of the lime and used it also. Gives it an extra "limey" flavor, which I really like. I also toasted some pine nuts and added them which added another dimension on flavor and texture. If I had any criticism for this recipe, I think it should be doubled. So easy to eat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Someone mentioned this lacking flavor...hardly! This was positively amazing! I love how there are so many variations to use Quinoa. Delious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
if its vegetarian you need to use vegetable broth not chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brit
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great recipe!!! Family loved it!!! The only thing I added was black beans, but it is awesome on his own!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States