Cilantro Lime Grilled Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I marinated with halfed cherry tomatoes as well as the tofu chunks, put them on skewers and grilled. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Made these for my daughter and she loved them. I only marinaded the tofu for an hour but will try the 2 hrs next time to see if they turn out differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Stec
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was my first time making tofu (after being disappointed at the prepared ones sold at the stores), and boy is this flavorful! It is spicy but we are used to spicy food (Indian, Mexican, etc) so that is part of the appeal. While it cooked (on a panini press) I used the marinade as a dressing for some carrots, and quickly sauteed some sliced shiitake mushrooms. Served the slabs of tofu topped with the carrots, mushrooms and sliced green onions. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! Since I didn't have chili powder or cayenne pepper at hand, I used ground chipotle powder and it was still very delicious! I also used zucchini and yellow squash to accompany the skewers and served it with a side romaine lettuce salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Loved this. The only change I made was to double the garlic. (I really like garlic.) Grilled on charcoal grill. I used leftover marinade to sautee spinach. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Excellent and simple. Love the spiciness of the dish. Works well broiling it in the oven as well. I paired it with veggie noddles and it helped balance the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I find that marinating tofu never really works. My "marinating" technique works every time. I boiled a few cups of water and seasoned the water with garlic powder and kosher salt to taste, then I poured it over my tofu cubes and let it sit for 10-15 minutes. Then I followed the recipe except there is no need to add any salt at this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Miramar, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I used dried cilantro (about 2.5 tbsp) and reconstituted lime juice (1/4 cup) and skewered them for the grill. I only marinated 2.5 hours and didn't find it overly tangy or sour. I think people need to be really careful marinating tofu, since it's basically a sponge (especially if you press it right--I used a TofuXpress overnight). Anyway, I was using this recipe as a component in my Copycat Moe's burrito attempt. I think it did very well, though fresh cilantro and lime juice will greatly benefit my next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetbreakfast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Like other reviews say, it's a bit on the sour/tangy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This came out great. One tip I found in an other online recipe is to add some sugar so that the tofu can caramelize, which it did. And, I pureed the whole thing so that the cilantro can really get into the tofu. Finally, I used half as much chili and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States