Cilantro Lime Grilled Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I find that marinating tofu never really works. My "marinating" technique works every time. I boiled a few cups of water and seasoned the water with garlic powder and kosher salt to taste, then I poured it over my tofu cubes and let it sit for 10-15 minutes. Then I followed the recipe except there is no need to add any salt at this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Miramar, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! Since I didn't have chili powder or cayenne pepper at hand, I used ground chipotle powder and it was still very delicious! I also used zucchini and yellow squash to accompany the skewers and served it with a side romaine lettuce salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Made these for my daughter and she loved them. I only marinaded the tofu for an hour but will try the 2 hrs next time to see if they turn out differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I used dried cilantro (about 2.5 tbsp) and reconstituted lime juice (1/4 cup) and skewered them for the grill. I only marinated 2.5 hours and didn't find it overly tangy or sour. I think people need to be really careful marinating tofu, since it's basically a sponge (especially if you press it right--I used a TofuXpress overnight). Anyway, I was using this recipe as a component in my Copycat Moe's burrito attempt. I think it did very well, though fresh cilantro and lime juice will greatly benefit my next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetbreakfast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Stec
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was my first time making tofu (after being disappointed at the prepared ones sold at the stores), and boy is this flavorful! It is spicy but we are used to spicy food (Indian, Mexican, etc) so that is part of the appeal. While it cooked (on a panini press) I used the marinade as a dressing for some carrots, and quickly sauteed some sliced shiitake mushrooms. Served the slabs of tofu topped with the carrots, mushrooms and sliced green onions. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Like other reviews say, it's a bit on the sour/tangy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is a good start for marinade, try adding 1 and 1/2 Tablespoons of honey. Exchange out a 1/8 cup of the lime juice for 1/8 cup of rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This wasn't as great as I was hoping it would be. For having marinated the tofu cubes for almost 24 hours, they had virtually no flavor. I did skewers with mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, and onion chunks along with the tofu. Thanks for letting me try it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
just like another review said, way too sour! I even watered it down a bit. Maybe if you use half the amount of lime and some broth. It was too late to try after marinating it by instruction. I did a lot to try and save this because I didn't wanna make a second dinner, but I had to review on my way back to the kitchen. By the way, I marinated it over night. It might help if you only marinate for the 2 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I marinated with halfed cherry tomatoes as well as the tofu chunks, put them on skewers and grilled. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States