Cilantro Jalapeno Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Great base recipe! Only things I did differently were to add an additional 1/2 jalapeno and quite a bit more cilantro as I thought it needed a bit more kick (and I'm not a fan of too much kick!). I added about 2 T of tahini and added more olive oil for a creamier consistency. I prefer using a food processor for hummus. A keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was a great recipe- very tasty. I also added a splash of lime juice. Fresh, it was delicious, but after a day, the flavors infused more and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
The cilantro is so refreshing! Ad more jalapeno if you like a kick. I only used one small US grown jalapeno and it was perfect for what I wanted. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Made this dip to take in to work today. It has a nice thickness and a kick from the jalapeño pepper. I made this in the food processor, but had to add a little extra olive oil to thin it down. After testing this on chips and fresh veggies, I thought it needed fresh squeezed lime juice. It was good as written, but better with the lime juice added. My co-workers enjoyed this dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Wonderful flavours. Did not do well in the blender. After trying, I put it in a deep bowl and used the hand blender. It needed way more olive oil than a tablespoon. Definitely could use some lemon or lime. Made this for company and everyone loved it. Thanks tastywhalebacon. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I made half with the jalapeno pepper and half without, so that all my taste tasters could sample this. I preferred the heat of the pepper! Because of starting with dried beans that were cooked, I found that I needed to add a little of the cooking liquid to make this the right consistency. Once all the cilantro was chopped, this was easy to put together! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I liked it, but there are some changes I'd recommend. I would prefer using half the garlic (it was a little strong for me). Also, it's way too thick, compared to typical store bought hummus, so I ended up adding some water and the juice of 1 lime. Oh and I did not add ANY salt and trust me it still has plenty of flavor (even with well-rinsed garbanzo beans.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I just made this recipe and it was great! I knew right away that I had to tweak it. I added a splash of lime, hot sauce, and a dash of water. I used grapeseed oil instead of olive oil because I wanted it to be lighter and fluffy. And I added a sprinkle of onion powder and two shakes of cumin powder. It tastes better than the one I get from Trader Joes. It was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Forgot the garlic, added a serrano chile because I LOVE spice plus a splash of lime! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is difficult at best to process in a blender. There is not enough liquid to process this easily. It is far too heavy on cilantro and not enough jalapeno. I also added tahini and more jalapeno. Sorry this did not resemble a good hummus. Other recipes on this web site are far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States