Cilantro Jalapeno Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
One thing I have learned: jalapeno + cilantro + garlic = amazing! I have been making similar hummus for a couple of years. Extra EVOO is in order, more like 2-3 Tbsp, and juice of one lime. I took this hummus to work last week and it was gone very quickly. A definite winner that pairs well with veggies, pita, or tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
A decent, fresh-looking dip/spread (not really much like a hummus). Though spicy, it's a little plain. Not as addictive as hummus can and ought to be. I added some of the chickpea liquid to get it to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Great recipe! I just added some tahini and quite a bit more olive oil. Garnished it with diced up tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I liked it, but there are some changes I'd recommend. I would prefer using half the garlic (it was a little strong for me). Also, it's way too thick, compared to typical store bought hummus, so I ended up adding some water and the juice of 1 lime. Oh and I did not add ANY salt and trust me it still has plenty of flavor (even with well-rinsed garbanzo beans.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Wonderful flavours. Did not do well in the blender. After trying, I put it in a deep bowl and used the hand blender. It needed way more olive oil than a tablespoon. Definitely could use some lemon or lime. Made this for company and everyone loved it. Thanks tastywhalebacon. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Made this dip to take in to work today. It has a nice thickness and a kick from the jalapeño pepper. I made this in the food processor, but had to add a little extra olive oil to thin it down. After testing this on chips and fresh veggies, I thought it needed fresh squeezed lime juice. It was good as written, but better with the lime juice added. My co-workers enjoyed this dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I just made this recipe and it was great! I knew right away that I had to tweak it. I added a splash of lime, hot sauce, and a dash of water. I used grapeseed oil instead of olive oil because I wanted it to be lighter and fluffy. And I added a sprinkle of onion powder and two shakes of cumin powder. It tastes better than the one I get from Trader Joes. It was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Forgot the garlic, added a serrano chile because I LOVE spice plus a splash of lime! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is difficult at best to process in a blender. There is not enough liquid to process this easily. It is far too heavy on cilantro and not enough jalapeno. I also added tahini and more jalapeno. Sorry this did not resemble a good hummus. Other recipes on this web site are far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Great base recipe! Only things I did differently were to add an additional 1/2 jalapeno and quite a bit more cilantro as I thought it needed a bit more kick (and I'm not a fan of too much kick!). I added about 2 T of tahini and added more olive oil for a creamier consistency. I prefer using a food processor for hummus. A keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States