Cilantro Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Not worth remaking. This is one of the first times I haven't tinkered with a recipe and it was the wrong time to do so. It makes alot of food - I used three large chicken breasts sliced into 8 cutlets, plus I had 3 random chicken legs. I am hoping my family will eat the leftovers as burritos with some cheese and sour cream. Might make it worthwhile?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I thought the recipe was very easy to make and good...but I couldn't help thinking that there was something missing. I haven't quite pinpointed what could be added to give it that extra "yum" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Before I mention how delicious this recipe is, a word about yellow rice. Here in Florida, yellow rice is almost a staple, but if you can't find it, just mix some saffron or saffron seasoning to the dry rice -- there is your yellow rice. I always have to thank the reviewers. Based on their suggestions I seasoned the chicken with Beau Monde, salt and pepper and garlic, and cut the chicken into pieces after browning, and didn't dredge the chicken in flour. I omitted the cayenne; we like spice, but it doesn't like us. I also added cumin and a small amount of curry powder. I used a trinity mix from Publix (onion, green peppers and celery) instead of just chopped onions. I think they call that the "holy trinity" in Louisiana cooking. Wonderful! I listed it as a favorite in my database.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I made this dish a few days ago and it was fantastic! A huge hit! I made a few minor changes to suit the items that I had on hand, but for the most part I followed the cooking method exactly. Changes I made, that still tasted wonderful, were: I used white rice, diced tomatoes with chili's in them, all pinto beans (did not have black beans), and dried cilantro (which I added extra of since it was dried). I used Indian cayanne rather than just regular cayanne, and it had a nice kick of spice to it. Before serving I grated a little Asiago cheese on top. We all went back for seconds!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
since having a baby, i am a big fan of 1 pan meals. this large recipe is great for leftovers or freezing & reheating. i omitted the flour, substituted brown rice & frozen corn, & did not drain any of the canned ingredients & it turned out great. i would recommend adding your own personal seasonings to give a little more flavor. next time, i may save 1/2 of the cilantro (i used a whole bunch) to add at the end for a bit of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Yummy! I cut my chicken up into pieces and did not use flour. It turned out great. I only used 2 chicken breasts and some pinto beans I had in the freezer. I have to say that I have enough leftovers for 4 hefty servings after what my husband and I ate tonight. It makes a lot! Very good though and healthy. I topped it with avocado and my husband added sour cream and avocado. He loved it! Will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Very good and simple to make...cajun inspired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe is so easy and so delicious!! I did not add the red pepper (didn't have any),black beans or corn. I used Uncle Ben's long grain rice. It was fabulous just the way I prepared it and thankfully, my whole family loved it as well. I melted shredded mexican cheese over the top of the chicken for my sons. I highly recommend this recipe, especially if you are a Mexican food lover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
We thought this was delicious! I cut the chicken into large chunks and omitted the green chilies. We ate this topped with sour cream, green onions and more cilantro. Served with tortillas and hot sauce....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nburlace
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Yum Yum! A few minor changes. I took the advice of another reviewer and mixed in a packet of taco seasoning with the (wheat)flour for flavor. I used onion powder instead of onion (hubby prefers), zatarains yellow rice (box, it was all i could find), I omitted the tomatoes (sis prefers), only used the pinto beans (and did not drain, to add more liquid for the rice), used a 'bunch' of cilantro, and cumin and chili powder instead of the cayenne. When it was all done I sprinkled some mexican cheese on top, it looked so pretty! i took a picture, i will upload soon. Hubby requested black beans next time, he said it would go better with the meal and sis said maybe some tortilla strips or crumbles would be nice on top so i will try that next time. My three year old ate two servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nburlace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States