Cilantro Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Oh how I wanted to love you Cilantro Chicken Salad! As a cilantro fan, I thought this would be the best chix salad of my life. Unfortunately, I found that the poaching process didn't add additional flavor to the chicken, but alas, the cilantro addition was too overwhelming. I tried in a salad, plain and in a sandwich and although as a part of a lettuce salad was the most palatable, it was a disappointment overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was fantastic. I was a little skeptical at first but was thrilled with the results. I served mine over warm jasmine rice. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Great, non-mayo, chicken salad. My husband thinks this is the best chicken salad ever (he does not like mayo). I've made it several times to have for lunch with weekend visitors and we just took it to an evening, outdoor concert. Followed the recipe as-is (did not use anchovy). Lots of flavor from the cilantro, garlic and shallots, but not too much. It is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This recipe was very good. I was a bit worried about it being too overpowering, but it wasn't. The shallots and the cilantro go well together. Others mentioned that cooking the chicken in the soy sauce/lime mixture was for naught, so I saved 2 tablespoons of that mixture and mixed it in with the shredded chicken to make sure I had some of that flavor still. I also added a large handful of shredded parmesan cheese and we ate this on pitas with a slice of swiss cheese. It was very good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I was looking for a light chicken salad without mayo, and this satisfied. It was delicious tossed with spinach and shredded carrots. I only shredded two chicken breasts into the lime mixture; next time I'd double the dressing if using all four chicken breasts. Added a splash of rice vinegar to the lime juice. To improve even more, I'd add a dash of sesame oil to give it a bit more Asian flavor, and perhaps a bit of minced green onion. Nonetheless excellent, and a wonderful base for ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
We really enjoyed this. The flavors are very light and refreshing. This would be a perfect summer supper salad. I ate it over fresh baby greens. The teenagers mixed it into some stir-fried sesame rice noodles, as well as ate it over the fresh greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe! Didn't use the anchovy paste but I just don't like anchovies. I added chopped fresh mushrooms and red peppers to the broth mixture and then put the cooked down pieces in the salad with the other ingredients. It was absolutely delicious! I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
WOW! ABSOLUTELY GREAT!!! My entire family liked it! I served it on a tomato basil tortilla wrap with some tomato and avocado, like one review suggested. The chicken was moist and shredded nicely and we used fat free chicken broth. We estimated this at 7 or 8 Weight Watchers points for 1 wrap. Will definitely make again. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I loved this salad. Im a vegetarian so I substituted soy chicken and made it exactly the same way and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
this was ok, I guess I just prefer the mayo based chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States