Cilantro Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I typically try and follow the recipe exactly but I'll admit that the reviews scared me a bit too much on this one to do that. I went ahead and measured out a cup of barbecue sauce but only added a little bit at a time until I had the perfect consistency. I ended up using right at 3/4 cup and it was perfect. We really enjoyed these burgers. Instead of plain Monterey Jack, I kicked it up a notch with Pepper Jack. Even though I think plain ole tomatoes would have been perfect, hubby doesn't like them so I just added a couple tablespoons of salsa to each burger instead. I think the key to this recipe is to use your absolute favorite bbq sauce and not just any that are on special that week. My sauce of choice is Kansas City's own Gates. These were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
1 cup of barbeque sauce was way too much - it made something more akin to sloppy joe's than hamburgers. The "burgers" crumbled and fell apart from the excess liquid. Due to the weather, I cooked them on the stovetop instead of a grill so perhaps that made a difference, but I'd suggest cutting the bbq sauce at least in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
The sloppy joes tasted good, but for burgers I would also recommend only 1/2 c. barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very very tasty! Here is what I altered though... instead of grilling them I used my electric griddle. I also used turkey meat instead of beef so I had to put some bread crumbs in it to keep the pattys from falling apart. Also I only used 1/4 cup of bbq sauce. Last change I made was I minced the cilantro and mixed with the meat instead of just garnishing the top of the cheese. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashadybarlink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
i wish i'd made more! this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I judged how much BBQ sauce to use base on how well I thought the burgers would hold, so probably about 1/2 cup . I also grounded up a few slices of apple-wood smoked bacon, added saute onions and garlic..What flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
this was good, but next time i will use a bit less bbq sauce- the burgers has trouble sticking together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
mmm, super yummy - made with Trader Joe's bbq sauce which is the best bbq sauce ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Delicious!!! I love cilantro so this caught my eye. I mixed up homemade bbq sauce made of brown sugar, ketchup, mustard, apple cider vinegar and worchestershire sauce. My maid chopped up garlic and cilantro and accidentally added to the sauce. It came out amazing!!! Yes they are a little crumbly and you have to be careful but so worth the effort! I reseved extra sauce to put on the bun also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
way too much barbeque sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States