Cider Vinegar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I was very pleasantly surprised by this dish! It sounded very odd, but I thought I'd give it a try because I had the ingredients around even when the cupboards were practically empty! My husband and I loved the tangy flavor and the meat turned out so moist. I used 3/4 cider vinegar and 1/4 red wine vinegar. Except for the fat from the chicken itself this is virtually fat-free... the pan doesn't even need greasing. And consider this: If you want to make something quick and easy for your family, this is healthier and took half the time as mac and cheese from the box! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This recipe sounded strange, but it sure was good, and ridiculously easy. I didn't like the thought of baking raw chicken (would have looked too pale!), so I seasoned and browned it first in a little oil in an oven-safe skillet, then added the garlic and vinegar. Cooked to perfection in 35 minutes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Easy dish to prepare with no prep work. Chicken has been a little dry both times I have made this. Leftovers are great for salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FASTFINAL137

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I used 1/2 cider vinegar and 1/2 red wine vinegar, alse sprinkled seasoned salt and rosemary on breast. They had a good flavor and moist. I doubled the vinegar for extra tang. Family enjoyed and I will keep playing with different seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
OhmiGAWD. This recipe was a complete shock (a positive one!). After reading the reviews, I didn't expect this to turn out so well, but the taste of the sauce...wow, mindblowing. I LOVED this dish, and I will definitely be making this again and again. The sauce is fantastic over potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
an easy way to make chicken. It turned out pretty good, not too tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
For the ease and speed of preparation, I gave this 4 stars. I'd say the taste is more tangy than puckery (similar to salt and vinegar potato chips tanginess). I used legs and thighs so I cooked it about 45-50 minutes and it was still very moist. I also like the low calorie count but I agree the meal is a bit bland and lacking in color if you don't beef up the side dishes. We had sauteed spinach and portobello mushrooms, cranberry sauce, and steamed white rice (I also drizzled some of the juice from the chicken on my rice). My three kiddies and hubby liked too, so I'll be making this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVES1031

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Was an okay dish, but probably will pass it over in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Good recipe. I did NOT find it too tangy at all - the vinegar ends up blending with all of the juice/liquid let off by the chicken. Could use a little perking up - next time I will add crushed garlic, maybe seasoning salt/celery salt, pepper, paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Overdid the garlic a bit, because I misread the recipe to be for 4 half breasts. Also overdid the vinegar. As I was making it, I realized that the housemate really dislikes vinegar, so I cut the tang with a drizzle of honey on each breast. Despite being overly generous with the ingredients, the hubby loved it; the vinegar hating housemate will eat it if I make it again, which is actually high praise for something made with vinegar. I'd pay closer attention to amounts next time; definitely step back on the garlic, which I had doubled for 7 half breasts. It did create a lovely, tender chicken, and the honey did take some of the sharpness out if you have someone in your house not overly fond of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States