Cider Vinegar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
This is a very good recipe my grandmother used to make a variation of this. Instead of using boneless chicken breast, which tend to dry out easily, I use a whole chicken cut into pieces, I cut the vinegar with about 1/4 cup to 1/3 cup water, add about 1tbs of crushed red pepper flakes and put in a slow cooker to cook all day while I am at work. All that's left to do when you get home is make some rice and whatever veggies you might like. Talk about something good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
OhmiGAWD. This recipe was a complete shock (a positive one!). After reading the reviews, I didn't expect this to turn out so well, but the taste of the sauce...wow, mindblowing. I LOVED this dish, and I will definitely be making this again and again. The sauce is fantastic over potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
The apple cider vinegar tangyness was overwhelming at times. I tried this recipe because I didn't want to have to make a trip to the grocery store, but after trying it I wished I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
i used balsamic vinegar with one tablespoon of garlic powder....WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Good recipe. I did NOT find it too tangy at all - the vinegar ends up blending with all of the juice/liquid let off by the chicken. Could use a little perking up - next time I will add crushed garlic, maybe seasoning salt/celery salt, pepper, paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Overdid the garlic a bit, because I misread the recipe to be for 4 half breasts. Also overdid the vinegar. As I was making it, I realized that the housemate really dislikes vinegar, so I cut the tang with a drizzle of honey on each breast. Despite being overly generous with the ingredients, the hubby loved it; the vinegar hating housemate will eat it if I make it again, which is actually high praise for something made with vinegar. I'd pay closer attention to amounts next time; definitely step back on the garlic, which I had doubled for 7 half breasts. It did create a lovely, tender chicken, and the honey did take some of the sharpness out if you have someone in your house not overly fond of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
CHICKEN WAS VERY MOIST,AND TASETED GREAT. VERY EASY TO PREPARE AND DONE IN NO TIME. THIS ONE IS A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
For the ease and speed of preparation, I gave this 4 stars. I'd say the taste is more tangy than puckery (similar to salt and vinegar potato chips tanginess). I used legs and thighs so I cooked it about 45-50 minutes and it was still very moist. I also like the low calorie count but I agree the meal is a bit bland and lacking in color if you don't beef up the side dishes. We had sauteed spinach and portobello mushrooms, cranberry sauce, and steamed white rice (I also drizzled some of the juice from the chicken on my rice). My three kiddies and hubby liked too, so I'll be making this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVES1031

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I didn't have garlic salt so I used some celery salt and garlic powder. I also added some red pepper flakes because we like spicy food and added a bit of water to cut down on the tang of the vinegar. Overall, I think it's a great recipe for chicken...not your everyday flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
This is the quickest, easiest chicken recipe I've ever made, and with so few ingredients I'm always sure to have on hand. The chicken came out very moist and tender. My husband couldn't guess what was in it, but said it was "very tasty".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States