Cider Vinegar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was really good and I didn't feel the vinegar was overpowering at all. I did make some changes based on my BFF who uses a very similar recipe. I seasoned my meat with all-purpose seasoning, topped with red pepper flakes, and added some water. Additionally, at the end, I browned the meat under the broiler then removed the meat from the pan. I placed the pan on top of the stove, brought to a boil, added 1/3 c brown sugar and thickened the sauce with Wondra gravy mix. Outstanding and even better the next day for lunch! I only gave 4 stars based on my additions (even though the recipe as written is a good base recipe) and the cooking time written. Thirty-five minutes at 350 degrees wasn't nearly enough time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I am a big fan of vinegar, but I have to admit that this really didn't sound very good when I read the recipe. However, because it looked very easy (and it was), I gave it a shot. The final product confirmed my suspicion. (I wish tht I had seen the suggestion to use the chicken in a sandwich or salad--with some other flavors, this wouldn't be a waste.) I really am shocked by the sheer number of glowing reviews for this. Never again for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
VERY surprising recipe...I decided to try this against my wife's protest that it was going to be dry, or vinegary and it was NEITHER. I used bone in chicken breats (7) and this recipe was delicious enough for me to make monthly. My finicky children also said to give this a 5 start rating- and that's something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Made this exactly as written and my husband loved it - wanted to know what was in it, and was amazed when I told him. I'll be making this a lot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is great! Made in the crockpot and it shredded-it was like pork BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn O'Keefe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was...unique. It's kind of a funky flavor, not bad, but probably not something that I would make very often. There's a very vinegar tang to the chicken, and I think it would mellow out nicely with an apple salad or something else that would take out a little of the acidity. *I found out the next day that these are really good for chicken sandwiches; a little mayo, a little toast, and I actually enjoyed it more than I did fresh from the oven.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Simple and tasty - a new twist to the chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Flavorful, simple, and a healthy dinner option. My fiance and I really enjoy this recipe. Great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I absolutely loved this dish! The chicken breasts we used were frozen and re-thawed and the chicken STILL was so moist all the way through. I didn't think the vinegar was at all overpowering.. Can't wait to make this again with potatoes in the vinegar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecorneliusclan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
If you like salt and vinegar potato chips, you'll like this chicken. It reminds me of a dish my grandmother prepared that I have never been able to replicate. She used pork and sauerkraut. As suggested by another reviewer, I cut the vinegar with 1/4 cup water and I used a whole roaster, cut up. I think fat enhances the flavor of the juice, and a whole, skin-on chicken provides that. I would definitely like to try this in the Crockpot, using sauerkraut plus 3/4 cup vinegar & 1/4 cup white wine, some crushed red pepper, and a whole cut up chicken. This is delicious. It is warming and homey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States